« НазадПродовжити »
generation. This lady married Sir Thomas Temple, of Stowe, and died in 1656, at the age of eighty-seven.
Isenbampsted Cheynes, is so called from being possessed by the family of Cheyne; it had originally been a royal residence, till it was given by Edward III. to Thomas Cheyne, his shield bearer. It passed from the Cheynes to the family of Sapcote; Sir John Broughton, of Tuddington, in Bedfordshire, married Anne, daughter and heiress of Sir Guy Sapcote; her second husband was John lord Russell, afterwards earl of Bedford. This nobleman upon coming into possession, rebuilt the greater part of the manor house, and made it his principal seat; queen Elizabeth was entertained here' by his son Francis, earl of Bedford, in 1570. Since the family have removed to Woburn Abbey, Cheynes has been deserted, and the old mansion, still remaining, has been changed to a farm, and is the residence of the duke of Bedford's principal tenant on this estate.
The church contains many handsome monuments in memory of the noble house of Russel, carls and dukes of Bedford; and some antient memorials for the Cheynes. It is still the place of sepulture for the Russel family.
AGMONDESHAM, oŘ AMERSHAM, is a borough town, twenty-six miles from London, and has a market on Tuesday; fairs Whitsun Monday for cattle, 19th of September for cattle, and a statute. The chief manufactures are lace, the sacking manufacture, and a manufactory of all kinds of white cotton goods, by machi. nery. The town lies in a vale between woody hills, near the river Colne, and consists of a long strcet, in the road from Uxbridge to Buckingham, divided about the middle by a shorter cross street; in the intersection of which stands the church ; its town hall, or market house, is the handsomest in the county.
The manor of Agmondesham, or, as it is called in Domesday Book, Elmodesham, was given by William I. to Geoffrey de Mandeville; whence it descended, with other
estates, to the noble families of Fitz-Piers, Bohun, and Stafford, till the attainder of Edmund Stafford, duke of Buckingham, in the reign of Henry VIII when that monarch granted it to Sir John Russel; William earl of Bed. ford, in 1665, sold it to Sir Williain Drake, whose fainily had been previously settled here by marriage with that of Totehill, of Shardiloes. William Drake, Esq. was created , a baronet in 1641, but dying a bachelor in 1669, the title became extinçt; but having bequeathed his estates, in Amersham to bis nephew, William Drake, Esq. afterwards Sir William Drake, knight, they still continue in his family, in the person of Thomas Drake Tyrwhit Drake, Esq.
The old manor house of SHARDELOES, the seat of Mr. Drake, appears to have been the occasional residence of queen Elizabeth. The present house is seated on the brow of a hill, overlooking a broad sheet of water, planned by Mr. Richmond ; the view of the town of Amersham, and the surrounding eminences surmounted by woody tracts, is beautiful. The house was erected by the father of the present possessor, from designs of Messrs. Adam. The portico is supported by four Corinthian columns; the ball is thirty feet square. The dining parlour, on the right, is thirty-six feet by twenty-four; on the left, a handsome drawing room of the same dimensions, contains, among other valuable pictures, the following:
A fine portrait of QUEEN ELIZABETH; in the distance the Spanish Armada. A small landscape and figures, F. VANLINS, 1741. Lord chancellor Hatton, C. JANSEN, Four sea pieces, VERNET, 1747. Sea engagement, CarTer. Landscapes and ruins, VAN BLOMEN. Rocks and water fall, VAN DIEst. Birds, fish, &c. BARLOW; among which is the portrait of a jack caught in the lake before the house, weighing thirty-four pounds.
AMERSHAM CHURCH is a spacious brick building, co. vered with stucco. It was handsomely pewed; when the church was repaired in 1778, at the expence of the late Mr. Drake, who placed in the chancel a window of painted glass, representing whole length figures of the twelve
Apostles, Faith, Hope, and Charity; and in the upper compartment the Lamb and the Dove. The galleries were added by the present lord of the manor in 1800.
Among the monuments are several to the Drake family in the MONUMENT Room, erected, and paved with marble to receive them. That erected by Scheemakers, for Montaque Gerard Drake, Esq. in 1728, is very magnificent. The chancel contains a large monument to the memory of Irs. Elizabeth Bent, who bequeathed 7001. to purchase lands, the income of which she directed to be given to the clergyman for preaching sermons and administering the sacrament to the poor. She also appropriated the interest of 1001. to the use of godly widows, who should constantly attend divine service, and receive the communion.
The rectory of Amersham, possessed by the brother of Mr. Drake, is esteemed one of the best in England, and has a manor annexed to it, with a court-leet and court-baron; formerly it belonged to the prior and convent of Brecon, in South Wales, to whom it was given in 13-17, by Humphrey de Bohun, earl of Hereford.
The town appears to have been peculiarly the object of popish persecution in the reigns of Henry V. Henry VII. and Mary . The execution of William Tillsworth, in the reign of Henry VII. was attended with peculiar barbarity; he was ordered to be burnt for speaking against pilgrimages and worshipping images, and for reading the Scriptures in English; but to add to his sufferings his innocent daughter was compelled to set fire to the faggots that were to destroy her beloved parent!
Here are a grammar school, a writing school, and a Sunday school; besides almshouses for six poor widows. The town has sent members to parliament from the time of Edward I. John GREGORY, author of several learned treatises, peculiarly that respecting the election of the boybishop at Salisbury, was born at Amersham, in 1607.
The hamlet of COLESHILL, though belonging to this parish, forms an insulated portion of Hertfordshire, and is remarkable for having been the birth place of Waller, the
poet; it was purchased of his family by Mrs. Bent, for the purposes expressed in her will, as before mentioned.
Near Amersham is GREAT MISSENDEN, formerly a benedictine monastery; at the Dissolution it was leased to Richard Greneway, and afterwards to Richard Hampden, Esq. clerk of the kitchen.
After having been possessed in 1553 by John, duke of Northumberland, and in 1.573, by the earl of Leicester, it was purchased by the famous Sir William Fleetwood, the active recorder of London, in the reign of queen Elizabeth, an antiquary and historian, who made Missenden his residence. It continued in his family till the commencement of the last century, after which it was put into chancery, and purchased under a decree of that court by James Oldham Oldham, Esq. an eminent ironmonger in Holborn, the present possessor.
PETERLEY House, belonging to lord Dormer, is now an academy in Great Missenden parish.
CHALFONT ST. GILESS, twenty-three miles from the metropolis, was the residence of Milton, during the plague in London, in 1665. The house in all probability, from its appearance, remains nearly in its original state. taken for him by Mr. Elwood, the Quaker, who had been recommended to the blind bard as one that would read Latin to him for the benefit of his conversation. Here Elwood first saw a complete copy of Paradise Lost, and having perused it, said, “ Thou hast said a great deal on Paradise Lost, but what hast thou to say to Paradise Found?” This question suggested to Milton the idea of his Paradise Regained. Near this place Sir Henry Thomas Gutt has a seat called Newland Park; and the late admiral Sir Hugh Palliser, bart. a seat called the Vache, now the property of James Grant, Esq.
At the Vache was born Dr. James Fleetwood, a persecuted divine during the Civil Wars; he afterwards died bishop of Worcester, in 1683.
The church contains memorials for the Fleetwood and Clayton families, and a monument for the admiral Palliser. Vol. V. No. 121,
Here also was buried, without any memorial, Dr. Francis Hare, bishop of Chichester, who died at the Vache, in 1740. pl We now cross a pleasant country till we arrive at
BEACONSFIELD, a small market town, twenty-three miles from London, situated on a hill, and supposed to derive its name from the word beacon, a signal well known, in consequence of its situation being high, although not near the sea.coast; it is reckoned one of the most healthy situations in the kingdom. It consists of several good well-built houses, and contains four streets, which are in the form of a cross. The streets are extensive and wide; the principal street is in the road leading from Uxbridge to Wycomb, being the high road to Oxford, and is nearly three quarters of a mile in length: the part east is called London End, and the part west is called Wycomb End; that on the right, which leads towards Aylesbury, by the name of Aylesbury End; that on the left, being the road towards Windsor, is called the Windsor End. On the right hand side of Windsor End is the church, which belonged formerly to the monastery of Burnham. In the middle of the town is the market house, which is a low building. A market is held weekly on Wednesday; and two fairs, chiefly for cattle, viz. on Candlemas Eve and Day, and on Ascension Day. The soil in general is of a gravelly kind, the water exceeding good and plenty.
The church is a neat structure of fint and square stones, and consists of a nave, aisles, and chancel, with a tower and small spire, at the west end. The principal object of the inside of this edifice is a small plain tablet, with the following inscription :
~ Near this place lies interred all that was mortal of the right honourable EDMUND BURKE, who died on the 9th of July, 1797, aged 68 years. In the same grave are deposited the remains of his only son, Richard Burke, Esq. representative in parliament for the borough of Malton who died on the 2d of August, 1794,