Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub

tion of London contributing 5001. as part of the money ; the new church was dedicated in 1793 by the bishop of London, and is a structure where elegance and simplicity are happily joined. The interior is of a rotund form, with proper terminations ; besides the principal door, there are four others into the vestry, &c. and handsome fire places let in on the north and south sides. The church is very handsomely pewed, and the pulpit and reading desk are placed on the north side of the middle aisle from the entrance, and so contrived that the altar, which is plain and simple, is not obstructed from the view. There are two rows of handsome galleries, which are terminated by a plain organ; underneath is engraved, on a brass plate, the date of the dedication of the church. Above the galleries, on each side, are monuments mostly to the memory of the family of Graham; but none of any peculiarity worthy of remark. Above the galleries the building is diminished by an ornamented dome, the upper story of which is surrounded by arched windows, the whole terminated by an enriched cap; from the centre hangs a large branch for illuminating the whole fabric. The only light to the building is admitted through the windows surmounting the dome.

The exterior of the church is equally simple; the door in the centre is between Ionic columns doubled, above which is a moulded pediment, with a plain tympanum. A square tower in two stories; the first plain, for the clock and four bells; the second, ornamented with double Corinthian pilasters, is terminated at each corner with a handsome vase, and the whole finished by an elegant dome with a vane. The ends of the front, adorned with Ionic pilasters, with blank windows on each side, form, with the other parts described, a very chaste specimen of modern architecture.

St. Peter le Poor is a rectory, in the collation of the dean and chapter of St. Paul's cathedral, before the year 1181. Among the rectors was Dr. Richard HOLDSWORTH, an eminent and loyal divine during the reign of Charles I.; he was professor of Gresham College, master of Emanuel College, vice-chancellor of Cambridge, archdeacon of Huntingdon ;

3 L 2

and,

and, in 1645, dean of Worcester, having refused the bi. shopric of Bristol.

But the principles of this excellent person being contrary to the turbulent temper of such as aimed at superiority by rebellion, he suffered much from the malevolent disposition of the Long Parliament; he was deprived of his spiritualities, and several times imprisoned. Being afterwards set at liberty, he was permitted to attend his majesty in his affliction at Hampton Court, and in the Isle of Wight; and having seen his sovereign murdered by bis subjects, Dr. Holdsworth surrendered his pious soul to his Maker, August 22, 1649, and was buried in this church, out of which in his life he had been cruelly driven, John Scott, D. D. rector of St. Giles in the Fields, as well as of this church, in 1691, was the author of “ The Christian Life.”

Proceeding up Pig Street, towards the Royal Exchange, on the north side of Threadneedle Street, opposite Finch Lane, is

THE WALLOON CHURCH. The history of this spot is, that about 1231 a Jew's sy. nagogue was built, and afterwards converted into a church, dedicated to the Virgin Mary. It rose afterwards to be an hospital, dedicated to St. Anthony; to which was added a large free school, in this school were educated Sir Thomas More, Dr. Heath, archbishop of York, and Dr. Whitgift, archbishop of Canterbury. There were also almshouses at the west end of the church, for poor men. Among other accounts of this hospital, Stow says, “ That he could remember that the overseers of the markets in this city would take a starved pig from the market people, and having slit its ear, would give it to this hospital; and that the proctors of St. Anthony's having turned it out into the streets with a bell about its neck, the pig might range about the city without danger. If any person gave it bread or other feeding, the subtle creature would watch him, and whine after him for more: whence arose the proverb, “ That he follows me like a Tantony, or St. Anthony's pig.” But he adds, when any of those pigs became fit for the spit, the

proctor

proctor took them up for the use of the hospital. Hence arose the name of PiG STREET, though now esteemed a continuation of Broad Street.

At the dissolution of religious houses, St. Anthony's hospital was valued at 55l. 6s. 8d. per annum. The college at Windsor lost at least one thousand marks every year, by the Reformation, in the profit made by the St. Anthony pigs, which that appropriation to the hospital brought; but the principal ruin of the hospital is attributed to one of its schoolmasters, named Johnson, who, upon being appointed prebendary of Windsor, first dissolved the choir, then conveyed away the plate and ornaments, the bells, and lastly turned the poor out of the almshouses, let out the premises for rent, and the church for a place of worship to the French protestants; who hold it to this day of the dean and chapter of Windsor. They perform divine service after the manner of the church of England, in the French tongue.

The ancient fabric having been destroyed by the Great Fire, the present church was built at the sole expence of the French protestants; and is a small, but neat place of worship, with a convenient vestry at the south east corner. They maintain their own poor, and have almshouses, containing apartments for forty-five poor men and women, who are allowed 2s. 3d. and a bushel of coals every week, and apparel every other year.

The government of this church is in a minister, elders, and deacons.

FINCH, or FINK LANE, was forinerly covered by the large mansion of the family of that name; of whom Robert, the elder, rebuilt the parish church of

ST.

[merged small][graphic][ocr errors]

THE former church was of very ancient foundation. In 1323, John de Anesty was collated to the rectory on the death of Thomas de Branketre. Afterwards falling to the crown, the patronage was given by Edward IV. to the dean and chapter of Windsor ; the impropriation is still in that reverend body, and they usually appoint one of their body to the living, who is licensed by the bishop of London. It is therefore only a donative, or curacy, though originally a rectory. Having been rebuilt by Robert Fink the elder, it was repaired, and beautifully adorned at the parish charge, amounting to 400l. in the year 1633; it was in the year 1666 consumed by the dreadful fire, and again rebuilt and finished in the year 1673. .

The fabric is constructed of stone, and is a fine piece of architecture, the body of the church within being a complete elipsis, and the roof an eliptical cupola (at the centre of which is a turret glazed round) environed with a cornice, supported by six stone columns of the Composite order ; between each column is a spacious arch, and six large windows, with ang ular mullions; those in the north wall are nearly filled up.

The altar-piece consists of four small columns, with their entablature of the Composite order.

Here

Here is also a very beautiful marble font, the cover adorned with festoons, &c.

And, as a farther ornament to the church, there is in one of the south windows a south declining west dial finely painted, which has this motto :-Sine Lumine Inane. In another window is Mr. Holman's coat of arms, painted on

the glass.

The length (or greater diameter) of the church is sixtythree feet, breadth (or lesser diameter) forty-eight, and the altitude about forty-nine. The steeple consists of a square tower, over which is a large cupola, and above that a spire, above one hundred and ten feet from the ground; the tower is adorned with fresco work of festoons, &c. and contains six bells, beside the saint's bell.

On the north side of the entrance into the chancel, are the names of the benefactors done in gold letters on black, adorned with a carved frame, and an arching pediment.

The church could not have been so well finished had not Mr. Holman contributed the sum of 1000l. This benevolence is the more remarkable, because he was of the Romish persuasion ; he gave also the arms and dial in the windows; and would have given the parish an organ, had they not refused his offer. There is at present a very good organ.

There are no monuments in this church worthy of particular notice.

Among the curates of St. Bennet we notice Samuel Clark. This worthy man, who had been a preacher in Cheshire and Warwickshire, came to London, and was made “ Pastor of Bennet Fink;" where he was an useful minister till the Act of Uniformity in religion, during the reign of Charles II. silenced him and several other pious men ; but though he had been deprived for non-conformity, he continued his attendance at church, both as a hearer and communicant. He died on Christmas Day 1682, having published for his support the following works: 1. A Martyrology, with the lives of twenty-two eminent Divines. 2. The Lives of sundry eminent Persons in this latter Age, 1683. 3. The Marrow of Ecclesiastical His

tory.

« НазадПродовжити »