« НазадПродовжити »
proof, among many, of the skill of that great architect Sir Christopher Wren, by whom this beautiful spire was constructed.
The internal part of the church is supported by five Tuscan pillars and two semi-pillars, with plain arches and key-stones; there are double rows of windows in the modern Gothic stile, and a large one at the east end. The organ is in a handsome gallery, on Corinthian square pilasters. The east end of the church is peculiarly handsome; six Corinthian pillars, supporting an entablature, an arch, and an attic, and enriched by carving. This is surmounted by four Composite pillars, entablatures, and cir. cular pediment; the tympanum ornamented also with carved work; the whole, with the paintings of angels, &c. forms a grand assemblage of beautiful workmanship. The pulpit is plain.
MONUMENTS. Stow enumerates the following eminent persons buried in this church :
William Isaac, Draper, alderman, 1508,
John Hawkins, knight, one that feared God, was loyal to the queen, kind to his relations, a benefactor to Chatham hospital, the poor of Plimouth, Deptford, and to this parish: he died aged sixty-three f.
His numerous benefactions are recorded at length in Strype's Stow. + Sir Wolstane Dixie, the friend to his country, and to mankind, is mentioned among the eminent lord mayors in this volume. There is a portrait of him in Christ's Hospital.
Sir John Hawkins, who was one of the most renowned seamen, and bravest officers in Europe, was rear admiral of the feet sent out
Among the monuments now existing are the following:
On the north side of the church, a handsome black and white marble monument, of the Corinthian order, to the memory of Lady Williamson, the principal benefactress towards rebuilding the church, thus inscribed :
Pietati & Charitati Sacrum. Hic juxta Depositæ sunt Reliquiæ Richardi Hale, Armigeri, in spem beatæ Resurrectionis, qui decessit Anno Dom. 1620.
Cujus e filio primogenito Gulielmo Neptis Domina DIONYSIA WILLAMSON de Hales Hall in Comit. Norfolk pro summa pietate & Munificentia Ecclesiam hanc incendio deletam impensis MMMM Libris Maxima ex parte restauravit.
Exiguum hoc honoris & gratitudinis ergo Monuósuur avo posuere P.S.D. or tota hæc extruxit Sacra Moles ipsi erit pro sempiterno Monumento.
Tuum erit Lector tam illustri Exemplo
Locum Habitationis Gloriæ tuæ. On the south side of the chancel, a black and white marble monument, of the Composite order, adorned with columns, entablature, and open arched pcdiment, and an enrichment of cherubims, &c. inscribed
To the pious memory of that truly virtuous and religious lady, Dame Mary Moore (late wife of Sir John Moore, knight and al. derman of this city) a person deservedly great by excellent accomplishments of nature, and the more Divine Perfections of Grace: who having filled up her several relations with just honour and applause, and left the world a bright example of pięty and vir. tue, resigned up her spirit the 16th day of May, in the 58th year of her age, and of her marriage the 38th, and lyeth interred in a vault near this place, Anno D. 1690. against the Spanish Armada in 1588; in destroying which he had a principal share. He signalized himself in several expeditions to the West Indies, and died in that against the Isthmus of Darien, which was also fatal to Sir Francis Drake, in 1595. It is a mistake that he was buried here ; for the last offices were paid to him in the element where he acquired his fame. Granger.
Uuder this is a very spacious marble monument, adorned with twisted columns, entablature and pediment embellished with weeping angels, cherubims, deaths heads, ensigns of fame, &c. with the following inscription :
In a vault near this place, is deposited the body of Sir John Moore, kt. sometime lord mayor of London, one of the representatives of this city in parliament, and president of Christs Hospital; who, for his great and exemplary loyalty to the crown, was impower'd by King Charles the 2d. to bear on a canton one of the lions of England, as an augmentation to his arms.
Who, out of Christian zeal for good works, founded and endowed a free school at Appleby in Leicestershire his native country, and was a good benefactor to the worshipful company of Grocers, to the several hospitals of this city, to his own relations in general, and to this parish.
He departed this life the 2d day of June 1702, aged 82 years.
Having given the inscription on Sir John's monument, we are in justice compelled to add his character by other historians : Sir John Moore, who was son of a husbandman at Norton, in Leicestershire, became a zealous partizan of the court, about the time that Charles II. trampled over his enemies, and was as much a master of his people, as Louis XIV. had promised to make him. He nominated two sheriffs, who, he knew, would be subservient to the ministry; and was careful to secure a successor, who was as much devoted to the court as himself. He is characterized under the name of Ziloah, at the conclusion of the second part of “ Absalom and Achitophel :” and there is no doubt but that he assisted in all the cabal intrigues, which immolated Alderman Cornish, deprived the city of its liberties, compelled civil war; and was also a remote canse of the glorious Revolution in 1638. He erected the IVriting School of Christ's Hospital, in the front of which is his statue. His picture is also placed in the Court Room *.
St. Dunstan's is a rectory, and one of the thirteen pe. culiars in this city belonging to the Archbishop of Canterbury; and was originally in the gift of the prior and
* Granger, &C
chapter chapter of Christ Church, Canterbury ; but granted by them, (with Alhallows, Bread Street, and St. Pancras, Soper Lane) in 1365, to Simon Islip, archbishop, and his successors for ever.
Among the eminent rectors are the following: Dr. John Moreton, afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury, and cardinal of the Holy See, temp. Henry VII. Dr. David Wil. liams, master of the Rolls, 1487. Dr. Adrian De Castello, bishop of Hereford; afterwards of Bath and Wells, and cardinal. Richard Palgrave, a Londoner; who having spent several years in Paris, became such a proficient in the French tongue, as to be appointed tutor to Princess Mary, daughter of Henry VII. and was the first person, English or French, who reduced that language to Grammar rules. Dr. Richard Smith, the greatest pillar of the Roman Catholic cause in his time; he died at Doway, where he was dean, in 1563. Dr. John May, bishop of Carlisle, 1598. Dr. William Barlow, bishop of Rochester, and of Lincoln, 1613. Dr. John Childerley, an eminent and frequent preacher, and learned divine; a great sufferer by the Rebellion. The late excellent Dr. John Jortin, rector of Kensington, and archdeacon of London; a considerable and excellent writer.
The reverend Canham Sparke, curate, gave and distri. buted many sums for benevolent purposes.
We take leave of this church by relating a circumstance recorded by Stow in his Chronicle. « On Easter Day 1417, in the afternoon, at a sermon in St. Dunstan's in the East of London, a great fray happened in the church, where, though many people were sore wounded, and one Thomas Petwarden, fishmonger, slain out of hand; wherefore the church was suspended, and the beginners of the fray (which was the Lord Strange, and Sir John Trussell, knight, through a quarrel of their two wives) were brought to the Counter in the Paltrie: the archbishop of Canterbury (Chicheley) caused them to be excommunicate, as well at Paul's Cross, as in all other parish churches of the city. The twenty-first of April, the said archbishop sate in St.
Magnus, to enquire of the authors of that disorder, where he found the fault to be in the Lord Strange, and his wife, who, upon the first of May following, in Paul's church, before the archbishop, the mayor of London, and others, submitted themselves to penance, which was injoined them, that immediately all their servants should in their shirts go before the parson of St. Dunstan's (Dr. Malverne) and the lord bareheaded, with his lady barefooted, Reignold Kenwood, archdeacon of London, following them; and at the hallowing of the church, the lady should fill all the vessels with water, and also offer an ornament of ten pound, and the Lord Strange should offer a pyx * of five pound.”
A modern jury would have settled this business in a more summary manner.
The south side of Thames Street being occupied with WHARFs, it is necessary to insert a few remarks concerning them. We have before mentioued that on account of the frauds in the Customs the government was compelled to interfere, and order some regularity to be observed. This .was equally the case with respect to the wharfs; the consequence was that an açt passed in the first year of Queen Elizabeth's reign, “ That no goods should be put ashore at any place in the kingdom, but where she should assign and appoint by her commission;" and for the port of London, the commissioners drew up a declaration, “ determining what particular quays, wharfs, and stairs should be for lading and discharging of all manner of merchandizes; and what particular goods should be landed at Billingsgate, the Three Cranes, the Bridge House, and the Stilyard : where Newcastle coals, beer, deal boards, ore, corn, &c. should be laid on land: what creeks, wharfs, and quays, from Gravesend to London Bridge, should be no more used as lading or discharging, but be utterly debarred from it for ever: and that no stranger, denizen or not, should henceforth inhabit upon any of the wharfs allowed, except the Stilyard only : and, lastly, that all keepers of wharfs and quays should be bound to the
in certain sums of mo* A case to contain the host. VOL. II. No. 39.