« НазадПродовжити »
On the south side of Blackheath lies the village of LEE ; in which, on the north side of the street, is an old seat of the Boon family, with the remains of a grove, and a piece of water in the ground adjoining; near which is the mansion of lady Dacre. The shortest road from London to Maidstone is through Lee village. On the summit of the hill next the heath stands the antient church of Lee; within which are some curious monuments to the memory of the family of ANSLEY. The churchyard is neat, much ornamented with costly monuments of statuary and black marble; exposed to all the inclemency of the open air and winter storms; among them is that of the great astronomer, Dr. EDMUND HALLEY, with an inscription of some length in Latin. Sir SAMUEL FLUDYER, bart. lord mayor of London, 1761, when he entertained the royal family at Guildhall. His niece married the right honourable TREVOR Charles Roper, LORD DACRE, a most exemplary character, whose monuinent is also here. In this cemetery rest the remains of Mr. THOMAS SPENCER, the famous horse painter, and WILLIAM Parsons, Esq. the celebrated comedian.
In the church, on the north of the communion-table, is a stately arched monument of alabaster, supported with columns of grey marble of the Corinthian order. The rectory house, and that of Thomas Edlyne, Esq. on the eminence, near the church, command from every side of them very pleasing views, the adjacent grounds being highly improved, and the near and distant prospects enriched with scats, farm houses, towns and villages; the Kentish and Dulwich hills in the front, Blackheath and Greenwich Park behind ; with an extensive view over London and West
which cost 100,0001. It was built by the famous Oeorge Bubb Dodington. This seat, on his death, devolved on the late earl Temple, who lent it to his brother, Mr. Henry Grenville, on whose death, the earl offered to give 2001. a year to any gentleman to occupy and keep it up; but the proposal not being accepted, he determined to pull it down, and the materials produced little more than the prime cost of the plumber and glazier's work.
minster, and of the Middlesex hills, which bound the horizon to the north-west. The manor of Lee came from the last earl of Rockingham to lord Sondes.
RECTOR OF EMINENCE. The honourable HENRY REGINALD COURTENAY, LL.D. prebendary of Rochester, which he resigned; rector of St. George, Hanover Square; and successively bishop of Bristol and Exeter. Died 1803.
MORDEN COLLEGE, on the east side of Blackheath, for the support of decayed merchants, was erected by Sir John Morden, bart. a Turkey merchant, previously to his death, which happened in 1708. The principal building is of brick, with two small wings. The entrance is decorated with Doric columns, festoons, and a pediment, over which rises a turret, with a dial: the inner square is surrounded with piazzas. The chapel is neatly wainscotted, and has an altar-piece. This structure Sir John erected at a small distance from his own habitation of Old Court, and endowed it, after bis lady's decease, with his whole estate, to the value of about 13001. per annum; and placed here twelve decayed Turkey merchants during his life-time. Lady Morden, however, finding that the share allotted her by Sir John's will was insufficient for her support, on account of a diminution in the value of the estate, was obliged to reduce the number of pensioners to four. Upon her death, the whole estate coming to the college, the number was increased; and the number not being limited, it is to be encreased as the estate will afford. The building will conveniently hold forty decayed merchants.
The treasurer has 40l. per annum ; the chaplain, who reads prayers twice a-day, and preaches twice every Sunday, had at first a salary of 301. per annum, which lady Morden augmented to 601. at her death. This lady was, in other respects, a benefactress of the college, and the trustees placed a statue of her in a niche adjoining to that of her husband. The pensioners have each an annual stipend of 201. They have a common table in the hall; and each has two convenient rooms, with a cellar. The treasurer, chaplain, and pensioners, are obliged to reside in the college; and, except in
case of sickness, no other persons are to reside or lodge
WOODLAND House, is the villa of John Julius Angerstein, Esq. on the north side of Blackheath, toward Charllon. It is faced with a beautiful stucco. The front has a handsome portico, enriched on each side by elegant statues, representing the young Apollo and the Dancing Fawil. Immediately over each niche is a circular bassorelievo, with a semicircular window in the centre. The gardens communicate with a paddock, and command the same beautiful prospect as Westcomb Park, of Shooter's Hill, and the Thames. The interior is fitted up in a handsome stile; among the pictures is Garrick between Tragedy and Comedy, by Sir Joshua Reynolds; the Venus, by the some artist; a beautiful landscape, by Cuyp; and a portrait of Sir Peter Paul Rubens, by Vandyke. The botanic garden has been greatly improved, by extensive collections of curious plants and heaths.
Other seats on Blackheath, are East Combe, and West Combe; the latter, originally belonging to the Abbey of Westminster, came into the family of John Lambard, alderinan of London, 1553, whose son, William LAM. BAND, Esq. made it his residence. It was latterly the retirement of the duchess of Bolton, (formerly Miss Lavinia
Fenton, and Gay's Polly Peacham, when the Beggar's Opera was first performed). The dutchess died here in 1760.
CHARLTON is a village situated to the north of Black heath, and near the six mile stone. The manor, in the reign of Edward the Confessor, was divided into two moities, and held by two brothers. William I. gave the whole to the bishop of Baieux. It afterwards was possessed by Robert Bloet, bishop of Lincoln, 1092; he bestowed it on the prior and monks of Bermondsey. At the suppression it came to the crown). James I. in 1604, granted it in fee to John earl of Mar, who, in 1606, sold it to Sir James Erskine for 20001.; it was resold next to Sir Adam Newton, who died in 1629; he empowered his executors to enlarge and beautify Charlton church, leaving a sum of money on purpose; and, by a faithful performance of his will, they made it one of the neatest parish churches in the county. This gentleman was one of the preceptors and secretary to Henry, the eldest son of king James ; and, after the death of that promising youth, was made Creasurer to Charles prince of Wales, and his secretary for that district. He was installed dean of Durham, on September 17, 1606, and held that dignity till the year 1620, when he resigned it. King James, when he created Sir Adam Newton a baronet, granted to him also the manor of Charlton. The stately mansion, which is visible from the road, was built by him. It is a noble structure, with four turrets on the top. In the dining room, according to Dr. Plot, was formerly a marble chimney-piece, so exquisitely polished, that lord Downe could see in it a robbery committed on Shooter's Hill, and, upon this discovery, the servants were sent out, who apprehended the robber. Before the court yard of this house is a row of cypress tress, which seem to be of great age, and are perhaps the oldest in England; beyond these is a small park, which joins to Woolwich Common. This house was some years ago the seat of Sir William Langhorn, bart. and afterwards of that truly worthy nobleman, the late earl of Egmont. This
estate, in right of his wife, was vested in Sir Thomas Spencer Wilson, of East Bourne, Sussex, bart, who died in 1798; his widow consequently is the present possessor. It was for some time the residence of the princess of Wales. One of the priors of Bermondsey obtained from king Henry III. a grant for a weekly market, with a fair yearly, upon the eve of Trinity Sunday, and two days after, for vessels and instruments of horn. The former has been disused for upwards of a century, and the latter transferred to St. Luke's day. It was formerly the scene of dissipation and riot by London apprentices and servants; but Horn Fair was partially suppressed in 1768, and does not at present exhibit any of its former absurdities. A sermon is preached in the church on that day; that fabric being dedicated to St. Luke. Within the church are several inemorials for Sir Adam Newton, and other lords of the manor ; brigadier-general Richards; viscountess Armagh; Sir William Langhorn, bart. her husband; besides painted shields in the windows. Tradition indeed ascribes the origin of this fair to king John, who being hunting near Charlton, and separated from his attendants, entered a cottage, the mistress of which was very handsome, whom he debauched. Being detected by the husband, he was obliged to make him compensation by a grant of land from this place to Cuckold's Point, and he at the same time established a fair.
Eastward of Charlton church is an elegant villa, erected about the year 17.0, by the earl of Cholmondeley. Its situation is picturesque, and the views from it are extensive and beautiful.
HANGING Wood joins this estate, through which there is a pleasant walk to Woolwich; near the end of the wood is a large and deep sand pit. “ In this pit,” says Mr. Lysons, “ the first stratum is gravel, which varies according to the surface of the ground, from five, or six, to about fifteen feet in depth : beneath are various strata of clay, gravel, loam, and marl, running parallel; being altogether between thirty and forty feet, which cover a bed of sand of forty-three feet in depth. In the stratum of marl are found