Зображення сторінки

allowed 28. 6d.; every mate 1s. 6d.; and every private man Is. per week for pocket money.

Their * cloathing consists of a blue suit, hat, three pair of blue yarn liose, three pair of shoes, four shirts, every two years.

The coats and hats of the boatswains and boatswains mates are distinguished by a broad or narrow gold lace. The pensioners are also allowed neckcloths, nightcaps, and all necessaries for bedding, which are changed as worn out. Great coats are allowed for the old and infirm, and watch coats for those on guard.

The pensioners dine at twelve o'clock, when the lieutenant on duty attends to see that good order be preserved during their meals t.

There are a number of nurses appointed by warrant from the admiralty, who must all be widows of seamen; and under the age of forty-five years, at the time of admission. Their aliowances are, wages, each, per annum, 8l. fession. He had no objection to his preceding resolutions, but he conceived the latter would defeat his object, and he would therefore move an amendment, by leaving out the words, as far as convenient,” and restrict the trustees in their appointments, by specifying those officers alone who may be selected from those who were not at sea; for instance, the surveyor, the clerk of the works, the auditor, who was also a legal adviser, the brewer, and the organist. He was of opinion that these could not be conveniently selected from the navy, but in case of vacancy he would it advertised for one month previous to the election, to see if any naval man would apply, who, if found competent, would be elected. Such, he said, was the amendment he would propose, which would, he hoped, meet the wishes of the honourable baronet, and the concurrence of the house”

The motions, as amended agreeably to the suggestion of the chancellor of the exchequer, were agreed to.

* By an act of parliament passed in the twentieth year of George II. it was enacted, that persons taking to pawn clothes belonging to the hospital, or changing the colour or marks thereof, should forfeit 5). upon conviction before one of his majesty's justices of the peace; or be committed to prison for three months : and that the pensioner, or nurse, going off with the same, should be committed for six months. One moiety of this sum is directed to be paid to the informer, the other for the benefit of the hospital.

+ The surplus of pease-soup, being a considerable quantity, is given away to the pensioners samnilies at the gates of the hospital.



grey serge gown and petticoat, yearly. Provisions and bedding, the same as a pensioner. The nurses are required to take out certificates of their husband's service in the navy in the same mode as the pensioners; and to produce certificates of their age and marriage to the admiralty on the day of examination.

In consequence of an act of parliament passed in 1763, one thousand four hundred out-pensioners were appointed at 71. per annum each; whose numbers gradually decreased

consequence of death, or admission into the hospital, till the year 1782, when five hundred additional ones were appointed, and in the year following as many more; the inpensioners, who were desirous of it, were allowed to retire upon the out-pension, if they thought proper, there appearing to be no objection; and there have been progressive admissions since that period *.

For the above interesting description of this grand nam tional establishment, we are obliged to the authentic account of Greenwich Hospital by the rev. Mr. John Cooke, and the rev. Mr. John MAULE, joint chaplains.

The Painted Hall is commemorated for being the deposi. tory of the revered remains of the gallant lord Nelson, previously to its public interment in St. Paul's.

In the centre of the grand front is a descent to the river, by a double flight of steps, as represented in the plate, The ground-plot of the whole edifice forms nearly a square, of which, King Charles's Building occupies the north-west angle; Queen Anne's, the north-east; King William's, the south-west ; and Queen Mary's, the south-east. The in

By the above-mentioned act, “ All assignments, bargains, sales, orders, contracts, agreements, or securities whatsoever, which shall be given or made by any out-pensioner, for, upon, or in respect of, any sum or sums of money, to become due on any out-pension granted by the commissioners or governors of the hospital, shall be absolutely null and void to all intents and purposes.”

Also, “the personating or falsely assuming the name and character of an out-pensioner of Greenwich Hospital, in order to receive the outpension, or procuring any other to do the same, is made felony without benefit of clergy."


terval between the two former buildings, forms a square,
two hundred and seventy feet wide, in the middle of which,
is a statue of George the Second, sculptured by Rysbrach,
out of a single block of white marble, that weighed eleven
tons, and was taken from the French, by admiral Sir George
Rooke: this statue was given to the Hospital by Sir John
Jennings, who was governor from 1720 to 1744; the fol-
lowing inscriptious on the pedestal were drawn up by Mr.
Stanyan, author of the Grecian History:
On the east side:


On the west side:


AccІРІт. . On the north side:

HIC AMES DICER PATER ATQ. PRINCEPS. And underneath the royal standard:

IMPERIUM PELAGI. On the south side:

Principi potentissimo GEORGIO IIdo. Britanniarum Regi, cujus auspiciis et patrocinio augustissimum hoc hospitium ad sublevandos militantium in classe emeritorum labores—a regiis ipsius ante cessoribus fundatum auctius indies et splendidins exurgit.

JOHANNES JENNINGS, Fques, ejusdem hospitii præfectus Iconem hanc pro debitâ suâ principem reverentiâ et patriam charitate posuit, anno Domini MDCCXXXV.

The precincts of the Hospital are entered through iron gates, with rusticated piers, and lodges; on the western entrance are placed two large globes of stone, of an oblique position, agreeably to the latitude of Greenwich. On the terrestrial globe is marked the tract of the voyage round the world, undertaken by admiral Anson, in the Centurion, during the reign of George II.

There are two cemeteries belonging to this foundation ; in one of which was buried the reverend Mr. NICHOLAS


Tindal, appointed chaplain in 1738, and died in June
1774. This gentleman was the translator and continuer of
Rapin's History of England: he also wrote “ A Guide to
Classical Learning,” and other works. He was nephew to
Matthew Tindal, the Deistical writer, out of whose pro-
perty he was defrauded by the famous writer, Eustace
Budgell *.
This transaction provoked the following lines of Mr. Pope:

Let Budgell charge low Grub Street on my quill,

And write whate'er he please-except my will. . Part of the hospital stands on the site of a Franciscan monastery, founded by Edward IV. Among this community queen Catharine of Arragon, the first wife of Henry VIII. was accustomed to rise at midnight, and join in their devotions; she also appointed John Forrest, one of the monks, to be her confessor. Her partiality for the order, induced a grateful return, and they were advocates in her cause, which so provoked Henry, that he instantly suppressed the whole Franciscan order, throughout England. This convent was dissolved in 1534. Their possessions were restored by Mary I. ; but her successor, Elizabeth, completed their dissolution in 1559, and attached their buildings to the palace. In this church was buried lady lady Elizabeth, wife of Thomas Jord Dacre of the North, and sister of William, first lord Sandys, in the reign of Henry VIII.

A new building has been recently erected near the western entrance of the Hospital, for the purpose of transacting the concerns of the Chest at Chatham, which are now under the control of the governors of Greenwich Hospital.

In 1560, Mr. Lambard + built an hospital, called Queen Elizabeth's College, said to be the first erected by an English Protestant subject.

A college * See Noble's Continuation of Granger, III. p. 324. 326.

† Lambard was a bencher of the society of Lincoln's Inn, a master in chancery, keeper of the rolls and records in the Tower, and belonged

A college at the east end of the town, fronting the Thames, (for the maintenance of twenty decayed old housekeepers, twelve out of Greenwich, and eight who are to be alternately chosen from Snottisham and Castle-Rising in Norfolk,) is called the Duke of Norfolk's College, though it was founded, in 1613, by Henry earl of Northampton, brother of Thomas, fourth duke of Norfolk, and son of the illustrious warrior and poet, Henry earl of Surrey. To this college belongs a chapel, in which the earl's body is laid, which, as well as his monument, was removed here a few years ago from the chapel of Dover Castle. The pen. sioners, besides meat, drink, and lodging, are allowed 1s. 6d. a week, with a gown once a year, linen once in two years, and hats once in four years.

Having described what is really worthy of notice in Greenwich Hospital and its precincts, we return to the town, which may be deemed one of the most genteel and pleasant in the British dominions: the inhabitants are mostly persons of respectability and fashion; and those, who having served their country in warfare, spend the remainder of their valuable lives in the pleasing reflection, that after the faithful discharge of their respective duties in a faithful and honourable manner, they retire into ease and delight, and contemplate their former dangers only as they were conducive to that grand object--the good of their country!

to the alienation office under queen Elizabeth. To the memory and name of her majesty, he founded and endowed the above college for the poor at Greenwich; but is more generally known for being the author of many 'learned works; and he deserves particular notice here, because by him was written the first description, or, as he himself terms it, “ PerambuJation of the County of Kent.” He died at Westcombe, August 10, 1601, and was buried in Greenwich, where a handsome mural monument of white marble was erected to his memory, and that of his son Sir Multon Lambard. Upon taking down the old church, this monument was placed in Sevenoaks church, at the charge of the late Thomas Lambard, Esq. the next in descent, with an additional inscription mentioning the reason of its being removed. Vol. V. No. 106.



« НазадПродовжити »