Lost in a Good Book

Передня обкладинка

The second installment in Jasper Fforde's New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England


The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde's magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next. When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens's Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe's “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back. But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter's The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It's another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday's zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde's latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!

 

Відгуки відвідувачів - Написати рецензію

Рейтинг користувачів

зірочок: 5
47
зірочок: 4
58
зірочок: 3
23
зірочок: 2
1
1 зірочка
1

LibraryThing Review

Рецензія користувача  - stephanie_M - LibraryThing

"Lost in a Good Book" is the sequel to "The Eyre Affair" starring spec ops officer Thursday Next. To say that Thursday's life is complicated is an understatement. I'm not going to get into the plot or ... Читати огляд повністю

LibraryThing Review

Рецензія користувача  - PDCRead - LibraryThing

Thursday Next, SpecOps agent, has been married a month now when she hears the news that her husband, Landen, has vanished, and not only has he vanished, but he was supposed to have drowned 38 years ... Читати огляд повністю

Вибрані сторінки

Зміст

I
1
III
19
IV
33
VI
48
VIII
58
X
67
XII
74
XIV
93
XXVII
200
XXVIII
216
XXIX
223
XXX
239
XXXI
255
XXXII
268
XXXIII
283
XXXIV
298

XVI
105
XVIII
116
XIX
124
XX
130
XXI
141
XXII
155
XXIII
168
XXIV
177
XXV
186
XXVI
193
XXXV
315
XXXVI
327
XXXVII
341
XXXVIII
351
XXXIX
366
XL
375
XLIII
382
XLIV
387
Авторські права

Інші видання - Показати все

Загальні терміни та фрази

Про автора (2004)

Jasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out of the window and arranging words on a page. He lives and writes in Wales. The Eyre Affair was his first novel in the bestselling series of Thursday Next novels, which includes "Lost in a Good Book," "The Well of Lost Plots," "Something Rotten," "First Among Sequels," "One of Our Thursdays is Missing," and "The Woman Who Died A Lot." The series has more than one million copies (and counting) in print. He is also the author of "The Big Over Easy" and "The Fourth Bear" of the Nursery Crime series, "Shades of Grey," and books for young readers, including "The Last Dragonslayer." Visit jasperfforde.com.

Бібліографічна інформація