Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub

Western rail way. Acres of the parish 4,170. Houses | gross income £471. Patron, in 1835, the Rev 307. A. P. £8,555. Pop., in 1801, 1,408; in 1831, Charles Palmer. Here is a daily school. Acrer 1.640. Living, a vicarage in the archd. of Wilts and 5,100. Houses 60. A. P. £2,974. Pop., in 1801, dio. of Salisbury; rated at £8 46. 2d., returned at 235; in 1831, 268. Poor rates, in 1833, £16313%. £150; gross income £339. Patron, in 1835, H. LADOCK (THE), a river in Cornwall, rising F. Talbot, Esq. The church, which is an ancient near St. Enoder. and flowing into the Falmouth structure, contains many curious monuments. Here estuary: its total length is 1lf miles, for 3 of wbich are 2 daily schools, and a day and boarding school. it is tidal. Charities, in 1833, £2 12s. per annum. Poor LADOCK, a parish in the eastern division of the rates, in 1838, £1,017 3s. This was formerly a hund. of Powder, union of Truro, county of Corne market-town. Fairs for borned cattle, sheep, and wall; 34 miles north-west of Grampound, on the horses, are still held on July 7th and December 21st. post-road from Truro to Launceston. Living, In one of the streets of the village stainls an ancient a rectory in the archd. of Cornwall and dio. of stone-cross: 1 On April 16th.1 232 Ela, countess. Exeter; rated at £18: gross income £841. Padowager.dk Salisbury," remarks Tanner,“ laid the tron, in 1835, John Ware, Esq. The Wesleyan foundation of two monasterice; this in Snaylesmead, Methodists have a meeting-house here, and there near Laycock, in the morning, for buns, and in the are 5 daily schools, one of which is endowed with afternoon, that at.Hertton in Somersetsbire for Car- £5 per annum, by the late rector of the parish, the thusian monks: The religiqus, jallies here were in Rev. St. John Elliot. Acres 5.730. Houses 148. number about eighteen, of the order of St. Austin. A. P. 44.566. Pop., in 1801, 542; in 1831, 761. This abbey was dedicated to the Virgin Mary and Poor rates, in 1838, £293 5s. St. Bernard, and, at the dissolution, possessed of LAINDON with BASILDON, a parish in the estates amounting to £203 13s. 3d. per annum. It hund. of Barstable, union of Billericay, county of was granted 32° Henry VIII. to Sir Wm. Sharing. Essex; 3} miles south by east of Billericay, and near ton." The remains of this ancient nunnery--more the source of the river Crouch. It includes the extensive, perhaps, than those of any other house of chapelry of Basildon. Living, a rectory, to which the kind in the kingdom-have been fitted up as a is annexed the chapelry of Basildon ; rated at £35 private residence, and were long occupied as such 6s. 8d. ; gross income £779; in the jurisdiction by the Talbot family. In a room in which ancient and patronage of the bishop of London. Here is a deeds are kept, is preserved a copy of the Magna daily school, endowed with £20 per annum. Other Charta, as confirmed by Henry III., and sent to Ela, charities, in 1837, £30 per annum. Poor rates, in countess of Salisbury, during the period she held the 1838, .£331 14s. Acres 4,690. Houses 103. A. P. shrievalty of the county of Wilts, for the use of the £3,486. Pop., in 1801, 242; in 1831, 536. Knights and others wbó held lands in Wiltshire, by LAINSTON, an extra-parochial liberty in the military service. “Beneath the cloisters,” says Mr. bund. of Buddlesgate, Fawley division of the county Bowles, in his interesting volume on Lacock abbey, of Southampton ; 3 miles north-west of Winchester, -"which are still in the most perfect state of pre- and the same distance west of the Southampton and servation, the stone that covers her remains, re- London railway. Living, a rectory in the archd. and moved from the altar of the destroyed choir, is yet dio. of Winchester ; rated at £2 13s. 4d., returned entire; and the following inscription, which I give at £13 58. ; gross income £34. Patron, in 1835, correctly I believe for the first time, may be imper- Sir F. H. Bathurst. The church is in ruins. House fectly traced in the Monkish verse of the times, 1. Pop., in 1831, 40. Other returns with Sparslufra sunt defossa Elæ venerabilis ossa,

holt. Quæ dedit has sedes, sacras monialibus ædes,

LAITH-KIRK, a chapelry in the parish of RomAbbatissa quidem, quæ sancte vixit ibidem,

ald-Kirk, western division of the wapentake of Et comitissa Saruin, virtutum pleua bonarum.

Gilling, north riding of Yorkshire; 9 miles northBeneath, the venerable Ela's bones

west of Barnard-castle, on the river Tees. Living, Are buried : she, these sceues of sarred peace --- a curacy annexed to the rectory of Romald-Kirk. Countess of Salisbury gave to the Nuus,

Pop. included with parish.
Herself the Abbess here, and full of deeds
Of holy charity.

LAKE. See WILSFORD with LAKE.

LAKENHAM, a parish and village torming part Who does not involuntarily add

of the city of Norwich; mile south by west of Pray that she rest in peace!

Norwich, on the river Yare, and intersected by the The situation and scene around naturally excite, London and Norwich railway. Living, a discharged unconnected with the religion she professed, such an vicarage, not in charge, in the jurisdiction and inward prayer; and the river itself

, in this spot, patronage of the dean and chapter of Norwich. seems to steal by, lingeringly, in union with such There are a Primitive Methodist church bere, formed associations, and as if it sought to wander, from the in 1823; and 9 daily schools. Houses 917. Pop., tumult of the world, in search of loneliness and in 1801, 428; in 1831, 3,810. See NORWICH. silence; for though its stealthy current

LAKENHEATH, a parish in the hund. of LackDoth make no music with th' enamelld stones,

ford, union of Mildenhall, county of Suffolk ; 5

miles west-south-west of Brandon, on the Little yet, in the beautiful personification of the Poet of Ouse, or Brandon river. Living, a discharged vicaranother Avon,

age, formerly in the archd. of Sudbury and dio. of He gives a gentle kiss to every sedge

Norwich, now in the dio. of Ely; rated at £4 18s. He overtaketh in his pilgrimage,

114d. ; gross income £136. Patrons, the dean and And so by many winding uouks he strays."

chapter of Ely. The Wesleyan Methodists and LACTON. See LATTON.

Huntingdonians have places of worship here. There LADBROKE, or LADBROOKE, a parish in the are also 4 daily schools, one of which is endowed southern division of the hund. ot Knightlow, union with £7 10s. per annum; and a day and Sunday of Southam, county of Warwick; 2 miles south of school, supported by surplus funds, arising from Southam, east of Watergall river, and west of the land bequeathed by Mr. George Goward. Other Oxford canal. Living, a rectory, formerly in the charities, in 1829, £60 18s. per amum. Poor rates, archd. of Coventry and dio. of Lichtield and Coventry, in 1838, £8:27 Is. Acres 10,550. Houses 247. now in the dio. of Worcester; rated at £13 10s.; A. P. £4,343. Pop., in 1801, 745 ; in 18.31, 1,20%.

TRANSLATION.

LALANT-UNY, or LELANT- UNY, a parish in Yorkshire, Wales, and Scotland. The iron balusthe eastern division of the hund. of Pen with, union of trades which environ St. Paul's church, were cast Penzance, county of Cornwall; 3 miles south-east at Lamberhurst furnace. On an average of 7 years, of St. Ives, on the western side of the bay of St. to 1835, hops have annually been cultivated in this Ives. Living, a vicaragę, to which is annexed the parish to the extent of 2354 acres ; average amount curacy of Towednack, in the archd. of Cornwall of hops charged, 236,134 lbs. : of duty, £1,967 15s. and dio. of Exeter; rated at £22 11s. 10d. ; gross 8d. Fairs for cattle are held on April 5th, and May income £444; in the patronage of the bishop of 21st. Here remains a considerable portion of Scots Exeter. Here are 2 daily schools. A fair for cattle ney castle, an ancient structure, surrounded by a fine is held here on August 15th. Acres 4,240. Houses moat. The modern house of the same name stands 279. A. P. £3,165. Pop., in 1801, 1,083; in close by, and was designed by Inigo Jones. Acrei 1831, 1.602. Poor rates, in 1838, £374 9s. 5,290. Houses 264. A. P. £1,638. Pop., in 1801

LALEHAM, a parish in the hund. of Spelthorne, 1,017; in 1831, 1,521. union of Staines, county of Middlesex ; 24 miles eouth by east of Staines. Living, a curacy, subor

LA MBETH, dinate to the vicarage of Staines. Here are 2 daily srbools. Charities, in 1822, £7 12s. per annum. An extensive parish and metropolitan suburb and Poor rates, in 1838, £254 18s. The Thames abounds borough, situated in the eastern division of the in fish at this place, and is much resorted to by hund. of Brixton, union of Lambeth, county of anglers. Queen Anne is said to bave had a fishing Surrey; 14 mile south-west by south of St. Paul's seat here. The earl of Lonsdale bas a handsome Cathedral, on the south-eastern bank of the Thames, mansion in the vicinity; the scenery surrounding which is here crossed by the Waterloo, Westminwhich is remarkably picturesque and beautiful. ster, and Vauxhall, bridges. The parish is inter. Acres 1.290. Houses 99. A. P. £3,749. Pop., in sected by the post-road from London to Guildford, 1801. 372; in 1831, 588.

and the London and Southampton railway,* and LALESTON, a parish in the hund. of Newcastle, skirted on the sonth-east by a branch of the Grand union of Bridgend and Cowbridge, county of Glamor- Surrey canal. It forms, with South wark, one of gan, South Wales; 24 miles west of Bridgend, in the most extensive suburbs of London, covering the line of the Bridgend railway, and on the post- an area of 16 miles in circumference. It is bounded soad from Meath to Cardiff. The parish consists of by the parishes of Newington, Butts, Camberwell, the bamlets of Upper and Lower Laleston. Living, Stratham, Clapham, Croydon, Christ-church, and St. a curacy in the dio. of St. David's and province of George, and by the river Thames; and is divided Canterbury, not in charge; returned at £17, and into four liberties, containing Vauxhall, Kennington, consolidated with the vicarage of Newcastle. Here Lambeth-marsh, Lambeth-wall, Stockwell

, Lamis a daily school. Charities, in 1837, £2 12s. per beth-dean, and the Bishop's and the Prince's preannum. Poor rates, in 1838, £122 14s. The name cincts. Acres of the parish, including the districts is supposed to be derived from that of Lalys, chief attached to the new churches of St. John, Waterloo architect to Henry I. of England, whom Grenville, road, Kennington, Brixton, and Norwood, 3,640. lord of Neath, brought from the Holy Land in 1111. Houses 13,983. A. P. £220,618. Pop., in 1801, Houses 91. A. P.£1,423. Pop., in 1801, 415; in 27,937 ; in 831, 87,856. 1831, 442.

Ecclesiastical affairs.]—Living, a rectory in the LAMARSH, a parish in the hund. of Hinckford, archd. of Surrey and dio. of Winchester ; rated at union of Sudbury, county of Essex; 6 miles north- £32 15s. 7fd., gross income £2,481 ; in the patroneast of Halstead, on the river Stour. Living, a age of the arcbbishop of Canterbury. The church reetory, in the archd. of Middlesex and dio. of Lon. is situated near the water side, and adjoining the don ; rated at £12 Os. 24d.; gross income £392. archiepiscopal palace. It was erected in 1377, prePatrons, in 1535, — Hurlock and others. Tithes sents a mixture of the early and decorated styles of commuted in 1839; aggregate amount £395 7s. ld. English architecture, and is built of various mate

There are 2 daily schools in this parish. Charities, rials; all, except the tower, covered with a casing in 1837, £3 15s. per annum. Poor rates, in 1838, of compo. It consists of a nave and aisles, with £232 153. Acres 1,160. Houses 72. A. P. £1,715. small chapels at the east end, and a chancel with a Pop., in 1801, 285; in 1831, 323.

well-proportioned tower at the south-west angle. LAMBCROFT, a hamlet in the parish of Kel. Its dimensions are as follow: length, 111 feet; stern, county of Lincoln; 41 miles north-west by breadth, 53; height, 33; and the tower to the west of Louth. Houses 5. Pop., in 1811, 15; in bighest part, 87. In the west front of the tower, 1831, 34. Other returns with the parish.

which is in four stories, is a large pointed window LAMBERHURST, a parish, partly in the bund. with modern munnions. The windows in the north of Brenchley and Horsemonden, lathe of Aylesford, and south sides are of modern workmanship, as are county of Kent, and partly in the hund. of Loxfield" those in the clerestory. At the east end is a large Pelham, rape of Pevensey, union of Ticehurst, pointed window. The interior is spacious; the nave county of Sussex; 14 miles south by west of Maid is divided from the aisles by 5 pointed arches resting stone, and 84 south-east by south of Tunbridge, on ou octagonal columns. Two of the arches at the west the post-road from London to Hastings. Living, a end are occupied by a gallery, which is continued vicarage in the arcbd. and dio. of Rochester ; rated round the nave and the chapels at the end of the at £lž 10s. 5d. ; gross income £659; nett income aisles: the latter are separated from the chancel £401; in the patronage of the dean and chapter of by a pointed arch. The pulpit and desks are bandRochester. The Baptists have a meeting-house some, and are grouped in the centre aisle. The here; and there are 6 daily schools, two of which altar-piece is of the Corintbian order, plain but neat. are endowed with £6 per annum each. In 1834, The font, which is situated at the west end of the Thomas Calverley, Esq., gave about 11 perches of north aisle, is a marble basin on an octagonal pillar, land for the erection of a school building. Other charities, in 1836, £38 15s. per annum. Poor rates, in 1838, £827 3s. There were here very extensive The Lambeth railway has been projected to commence by iron-works, but they bave been given up in couse a junction with the London and Greenwich, tour Russell quence of the competition of rival establishments in I bridge-ruad between the York road and Landelh-marsh.

with a ponderous cone suspended above. In the are also almsbouses founded by Sir Noel Caron, western gallery is a very tine-toned organ, erected ambassador from Holland, to the court of Quren about the commencement of the last century. The Elizabeth, and others. Caron's almshouses, consistfamilies of Howard and Leigh bave chapels in the ing of accommodation for 7 poor widows, were interior, and several archbishops of Canterbury, one founded in 1626, and endowed with a rent-charge of bishop of Durham, and one of Ely, have been buried £28, to be expended in pensions of £4 per annum here. In the churchyard is the tomb of the Trades. to each of the almspeople. The income of this chacants, who collected the Ashmolean museum, sub-rity was increased, in 1773, by Earl Thanet's, or the sequently bequeathed to the university of Oxford Countess of Gower's, charity, and, in 1783, by part of by Elias Ashmole, who lies buried in the church.-Hayes Fortee's charity, amounting, at the time of the St. John's, Waterloo road, is a district church, charity inquiry, in 1826, the former to £34 10s., and erected, in 1824, at an expense of £15,911 16s. 7d. ; the latter to £14 148. per annum. Walcott's chagross income £483. Patron, the rector of Lam- rity is a valuable gift conferred by Edmund Walcott beth.–St. Mary's is a curacy, erected, in 1828, at in 1667, for beboof of the poor of Lambeth : income an expense of £7,634 10s. 4d. ; gross income £195; £638 158. per annum, derived from rents, besides also in the patronage of the rector of Lambeth. £2,043 2s. 9d., the amount of rents paid into the Private chapels have been erected in various places. Bank of England, according to directions of the A chapel has been recently built and endowed at court of chancery. Other endowed charities at the Kingsheath. Patrons, the Misses Seymour :-see period of the inquiry, produced an income of about also article KENNINGTON. The Wesleyan Metho- £150 per annum. The Lambeth poor-law union dists, Baptists, Swedenborgians, and Independents, consists of the parish of Lambeth. The average bave places of worship here.

annual expenditure on the poor of this district, dur. Schools. ]—The education returns for 1833, state ing the 3 years preceding the formation of the union, the number of schools of every description in this was £38,890. Expenditure, in 1838, £24,593; parish to be 132, with 8,724 scholars; but this state amount levied, in 1839, £24,996 15s. : expended in ment is by no means accurate, as about 50 private relief, &c., of the poor, £16,602 6s. : total parochial schools then existed, the proprietors of which re- rates, &c., expended, £34,000 18s. fused to make returns. Of those returned 6 were Franchise, Government, 8c.]—By the Reform act, infant, 97 daily, 18 boarding, and 10 Sunday, schools. part of Lainbeth, with the parish of St. Mary NewOf the infant schools, 4 were partly supported by ington, and the parish of St. Giles Camberwell, subscription, namely, St. Thomas's, Church-street, except the manor and hamlet of Dulwich, were High-street, and North Brixton, schools. Amongst appointed to return two members to parliament; the the daily schools were :--Archbishop Tennison's, returning officer to be appointed annually by the containing 258 females, who are clothed and edu- sheriff of Surrey. The number of electors regis. cated from funds accruing from endowment, aided tered, in 1837, was 7,040, of whom 4,497 polled at by subscription :-Lainbeth Parochial school, found the general election. The parish is included within ed in 1700, and containing 330 males, some of whom the bills of mortality of the metropolis, and within are clothed: endowment £40 per annum, besides the limits of the new police establishment. It is voluntary contributions :-The female Orphan asy- subject to the jurisdiction of a court of pleas, held luin instituted in 1758, incorporated in 1800, and sup- at Southwark, for the recovery of debts under £5. ported by voluntary contributions in addition to its Manufactures, &c.]—The inhabitants of Lambeth funded property : 160 females are entirely clothed, are employed in various branches of inanufacture, maintained, and educated in this institution :- The the most important of which are carried ou in potschool of the Benevolent society of St. Patrick in teries, distilleries, engine factories, iron foundries, Stamford-street, Blackfriars-road, instituted in 1784, patent shot manufactories, vinegar yards, cheinical for the relief of the distressed Irish in the metro- works, plate-glass works, vitriol works, and starch polis, and the education of their children, with a and soap manufactories, &c. : indeed the banks of lending library attached, and containing 300 males the Thames from Rotherhithe to Vauxball-bridge, and 200 females, who are educated, clothed, and including about 4 miles in length, are almost wholly apprenticed from the funds of the society, which occupied by manufactories, and by numerous wbarts, consist of the savings of former years and public at which coal, lime, and timber, are landed. There contributions :-The Licensed Victualler's school are also cotton-mills in the parisha: in 1838, three in Kennington-lane, containing 84 males and 68 cotton-mills here employed 118 hands. In the reign females, who are maintained, clothed, and educated of King John, a weekly market and a fair for 15 from the proceeds of voluntary contributions :- days were granted, but they were allowed to fall Ten National schools, the Stock well, Kenning- into disuse. ton district, St. Johu's, Norwood, and Brixton, General description. ]—The construction of the schools, containing, in all, 1,039 males and 650 three new bridges across the Thanes, together with females :-Lambeth Association school in George Westminster bridge, all immediately connecting this street, partly supported by subscription, and con- parish with the different parts of the metropolis, taining 212 males :- The Eldon school, founded in have greatly tended to facilitate the intercourse, 1829, and dedicated to the late Lord Eldon : it is improve and increase the buildings, and enhance the supported by private funds, and usually contains 120 population, of this extensive parish. Many of the males :--Denmark-hill school, supported by volun- houses in Fore-street and its vicinity, near the river, tary contributions, and containing 25 temales. In and once the principal part of the parish, exbibit the the other 79 daily' schools the instruction is at the most ancient specimens of metropolitan buildings expense of the parents.

still in existence. The houses are inean, and the Hospitals and other Charities. ]—Besides the fe- streets narrow and dirty throughout the space bemale Orpban asylum, which may be considered as an tween Vauxball and Westminster bridges ; but tohospital, there are others falling more exclusively wards the south and south-east, in which directions under this head, including the general lying-in hose the village or suburb ultimately extended, they are pital, in York road, Westminster bridge, instituted generally of a superior description. Towards the in 1758, and rebuilt on its present site in 1828 ;-the south, by Vauxball gardens and Kennington, the Bethlehem hospital for lunatics; and a royal univer. houses now extend beyond the boundaries of the sal infirmary for children, established in 1824. There parista along the Portsmouth road by Clapham, and along the Brighton road by Brixton. Towards garden, Fleet-street, Charing Cross, and the western Newington also, and Walworth, the whole area is parts of the metropolis, is supposed to have given it becoming occupied. Westminster bridge leads from a decided advantage over the other Surrey theatres; the vicinity of St. James's park on the opposite side but recently dramatical entertainments, in general, of the river, through Bridge road and Westminster have been falling in public estimation. There road, on the Surrey side, to the obelisk, where this were formerly other places of entertainment in Lamline of streets is met by those from Waterloo bridge beth, such as Spring gardens nearly opposite Vauxthrough the Waterloo road, and from Blackfriars ball gardens, and Lambeth wells at Lainbeth walk, bridge through Great Surrey-street. From the celebrated in the beginning of last century, but obelisk the Lainbeth road leads south-westwardly afterwards eclipsed by St. George's Spa, situated by the Blind school, the philanthropic institution, on the outside border of this parish. Lambeth wells and the Bethlehem hospital, to Church-street, and became at length a public nuisance, and were shut the vicinity of Lambeth palace, where are the Lam- up, till ultimately let as a Methodist meeting-house; beth stairs, opposite the Horse-ferry, on the opposite the music gallery being used as a pulpit. The preside of the Thames, where there is a highly pictur- mises were afterwards converted to various other esque prospect down the river, with an interesting purposes; except the dwelling, which still continued view of Westminster on the opposite shore: here to be known by the name of the Fountain public. another new bridge has been proposed to be thrown bouse. across the river. The other principal streets radi- Lambeth palace.]—The residence of the archbishating from the obelisk, are the London road south- ops of Canterbury, is an extra-parochial precinct in eastward to the Greenwich road, and the Borough this parish. It is situated on the western side near road, eastward to the Newington road. From the the Thames, between Vauxhall and Westmiuster vicinity of toe Bethlehem hospital and George's road, bridges, and appears to have been erected on the site Walcott place leads south to Kennington-lane, run- of one to which more particularly the name of the parning west-south-west to Vauxhall bridge. A little ish itself belonged; Lambard, for instance, explaining to the south of which, at Nine Elms, is the London “Lamnbythe, Lamhyth, or Lamythe, Saxon, Lomithis, terminus of the South-eastern railway, well situated i. sinus luteus Lel.”--to be * a house over against for economy and convenient connexion with the Westminster, whiche hathe bene honoured with the Thames; since, though by rails laid across the pub. residence of tharchebyshoppes of Canterbury ever lic road, loaded waggons pass from the station to a sythen the cominge of the Normannes into this wharf adjoining the river, it has interfered with com- realme. Before which tyme," continues he, “I paratively little property of value. The station thinke it was in the possession of the kinges; for I buildings are extensive and commodious, and the reade that Canutus the Second, comonly called main entrance is handsome. The principal streets Hardye, beinge heare at a solemne marriage betwene or roads running northwards from Vauxhall bridge, Tony Prudan and the daughter of Osgod Clappa, by the banks of the river, are Vauxball road, Fore- two noble Danes, dyed sodenlye as he was at meate. street, and Princes-street, Bishops-walk, Palace new Some thinke he was poysoned, other insinuate that road, Pedlers-acre, and Belvidere road, or Narrow he dyed of intemperance. Amongest the rest Henry Wall, leading by an admirably turned archway be Huntingdon comendeth him for princely liberalitye, neath the Waterloo road. In this vicinity a fine taking thoccasion of his praise at that which others wet dock has been excavated, and at Belvidere discommende: he covered his boorde (sayeth he) wbarf are the Lambeth water-works, established in four times in the daye, thinge forgotten of the 1775: the South London water-works are at Ken- princes in this age, which hardly do it once, neither nington. In the vicinity of the Belvidere road are then with that mynde or plentye that he used. Cupar's gardens, a spot formerly celebrated as a place After the deathe of Kinge Edw. called the Conof public amusement. The Surrey new road and fessour, Harold, the son of God wyn, put the crowne York road, run south wards, parallel with the Bel of this realme upon his head with his owne handes videre road, to the Westminster bridge road, where at Lambhythe.' The manor was conferred on the is an extensive engine factory, said to be the most see of Rochester by the sister of Edward the Concomplete in the kingdom : on its site formerly stood fessor. In the palace of the bishops of Rochester the Apollo gardens. South Lambeth has been cele- many metropolitan councils were held: in particular, brated as the residence of various eminent literary that convoked by Archbishop Anselm in 1100, to men. Farther particulars regarding Lambeth will consider the propriety of the marriage of Henry I. be found under articles KENNINGTON, NORWOOD, with Maud, daughter of the king of Scotland, who BRIXTON, VAUXHALL, &c.—which see.

had taken the veil, but not the vows of a nun. Places of Amusement.]—Besides Vauxhall gardens, There is reason to believe that the archbishops of the principal places of public amusement in Lam- Canterbury bad a dwelling bere at that period. beth are Astley's royal amphitheatre, and the royal About the year 1187, Baldwin, archbishop of CanCobourg thentre. Astley's is situated near West- terbury, obtained the manor and palace from the minster bridge: it was built by Philip Astley, Esq. bishop of Rochester, in exchange for other lands, at The present proprietors of this establishment are which time the buildings appear to have been old Messrs. Ducrow and West, the former of whom is and mean. The ancient possession of Lambeth by widely celebrated as one of the most extraordinary the see of Rochester is still commemorated by the equestrians that ever appeared in England. The payment to the latter, in two balf-yearly sums, of tive front of this theatre, which is plain and of brick marks of silver, in consideration of lodging, firestuccoed, stands laterally with the houses in Bridge wood, forage, &c., which the bishops of Rochester road. The stage is perbaps the largest and most had been accustomed to receive when they visited convenient in Londori; the proscenium being also London. “ Baldwin, archbishop of Canterbury," large and moveable for the convenience of widening says Bishop Tanner, “ being obliged to desist buildand heightening the stage. The Cobourg theatre ing a college for secular canons at Hakynton near was erected in 1818: it is situated at the angle Canterbury, thought he might pursue a design of that formed by the Waterloo road, crossing the New nature at du or 50 miles' distance, and accordingly Cut.-The front is built of brick, plain, and stuc- began, about 1191, to found a fine chapel here, which coed. The stage is extensive and well-fitted up. he intended to make collegiate, and to endow for The proximity of this theatre to the Strand, Covent the maintenance of several canons or prebendaries, to the bonour of St. Thomas the Martyr [" the ded with iron. The dimensions of the apartment god of that see,” as Lambard has it]. This his within are 12 feet in length, by 9 in width, and 8 in Ruccessor, Archbishop Hubert, carried on; but when height. It is lighted by two windows, which are only it was just finished, A. D. 1199, he was forced to 28 inches high, by 14 inches wide on the inside, and put it down by the papal bulls, which had been about balf as bigh and half as wide on the outside. obtained at the strong instance of the monks of Both walls and roof of the chamber are lined with Christ-church, Canterbury, who were jealous of this oaken planks an inch and a half thick; and 8 large new foundation of seculars so near the archiepiscopal | iron rings still remain fastened to the wood, the palace. This caused great difference between the melancholy memorials of a barbarous tyranny, archbishop and those monks, which, being put to whose victims formerly pined in this dismal prison. reference, the arbitrators awarded that the arch. Many names and tragınents of sentences are rudely bishop might here, at Lambeth, or anywhere but on cut out on various parts of the walls. Among the the foundation of the former chapel, found an ordi. principal apartments, besides the chapel and the nary church, and place therein not less than 13, or great hall, to be afterwards described, are the room more than 20 Premonstratensian canons, and endow formerly appropriated as the library ;—the long gal. the same with £100 per annum. But this last prolery, generally supposed to have been the work of posal doth not appear to have taken effect." In the Cardinal Pole, who held the see from the death of 13th century several synods were held here by Cranmer in 1556, till 1558: this noble room con Archbishop Peckham: the most important of these tains many portraits, of which several are in the was a general convocation of the bishops of the highest degree interesting as works of art, or on realm, to consider the condition of the Catholic account of the individuals they represent;—tha church in England, the bishop of Hereford having presence-chamber, an apartment of considerable made several complaints respecting it to the supreme antiquity ;—the great dining room, which contains a jurisdiction at Rome. The palace was sacked, and series of portraits of the archbisbops irom Laud to most of the furniture and records burned, by the Cornwallis inclusive ;—the old and new drawingfollowers of Wat Tyler, in 1381. It was visited by rooms,—the latter a tine room measuring 33 feet by Henry VII., Catherine of Arragon, and Queen 22, built by Archbishop Cornwallis :—the steward's Elizabeth, especially the last, who often remained parlour, or great parlour, probably erected by Arch. here for several days, visiting Archbishops Parker bishop Cranmer; and various others, besides a great and Whitgift. It was fortitied in 1641, by Arch- number of domestic apartments. bishop Laud, on previous notice of an attack by a The chapel is supposed to have been erected large mob of puritans. After the fall of that pri- towards the close of the 12th century. It is in mate, it was taken possession of by the House of the earliest style of English architecture, divided Cominons, by whom it was used as a prison, and into two apartments by a richly ornamented screen subsequently sold to Thomas Scot, one of the regi- of oak, and measuring 72 feet in length by 25 cides, and Matthew Hardy. After the Restoration, in breadth: the beight is 30 feet. The windows the arcbbishops agaiu entered into possession, and on the sides are triple and laricet-shaped, and the have never since been deprived of it.

eastern window contains tive lights: they were for. The palace is surrounded by a park and gardens merly filled with ancient stained glass, which was laid out with great taste, and now occupying at broken by order of the parliament during the com. least 18 acres, including 3 to 4 acres walled in at monwealth. The root is fat, and ornamented with a great expense as a kitchen-garden. Among the the arms of several prelates. The curious crypt ornaments of the grounds are two Marseillese tige under the chapel is supposed to be the oldest part trees of great size, planted, according to tradition, of the palace. It consists of a series of strong by Cardinal Pole: they still bear abundance of fruit. stone-arches, supported in the centre by a short The palace is an irregular but very extensive pile, massy column, and is 36 feet long by 24 feet wide; exbibiting specimens of almost every style of archi. the height of the root from the ground being about tecture that has prevailed within the last 700 years. 10 feet. These vaults, of which the crypt consists, The gate-house, which forins the principal entry, are now converted into cellars, but might possibly was erected by Cardinal Morton about the year once bave been used for divine service, as there is 1490, and is a very beautiful and magnificent struc- second entrance to them froin the north side of the ture. On each side are two lofty embattled towers, cloisters, the principal one being froin the northfrom the summits of wbich is one of the tinest views east corner of the same place. At one end of the in the neighbourhood of the metropolis. In front crypt are the remains of a building, supposed to bave of this gate the ancient archiepiscopal dole, or alms, been at one time used as a bakehouse or kitchen. is still distributed every Sunday, Tuesday, and The great hall was originally erected by ArchThursday, to thirty poor parishioners of Lambeth. bishop Chichely in the beginning of the reign of Ten are served each day, among whom are divided Henry VI.; but after the palace had been sold by three stones of beef, ten pitchers of broth thick. the parliament, this magnificent apartment was ened with oatmeal, five quartern loaves, and 20d. in pulled down. It was rebuilt, however, on the old copper. One of the most interesting portions of site, and in close imitation of the former ball, after Lambeth palace is the stone-builuing called the the Restoration, by Archbishop Juxton, at an exLollards' tower. It was erected by Archbishop pense of £10,500. It stands on the right of the Chicbely, in the early part of the loth century, as principal court-yard, and is built of tine red brick, a place of coutinement for the unbappy heretics the walls being supported by stone-buttresses, and fruin whom it derives its name. Under the tower also coped with stone, and surinounted by large is an apartment of somewbat singular appearance, balls or orbs. The length of this noble rooin is 93 called the post-room, froin a large post in the mid- feet, its breadth 38, and its height 50. The root, ule by which its root is partly supported. The which is of oak, and elaborately carved, is particuprisun in which the poor Lollards were contined is larly splendid and imposing. The arcbitecture of at the top of the tower, and is reached by a very this ball is of a mixed kuud, as are also the ornanarrow winding staircase. Its single door way, which inents, though the wbole is intended as an imita. is so narrow as to admit only one person at a time, tion of the Gothic style. The wbole hall is wain. is strongly burricaded by both an outer and an inner scoted to a considerable height, and the floor is door of oak, each 3 inches thick, and thickly stuur handsoınely paved. Two of the great oak-tables

« НазадПродовжити »