Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub

and with profit to the school. Upon being sent to Cookman he took up his task quietly but energetically. Under his capable leadership the school has been transformed both physically and spiritually.

THE ALUMNI Cookman never forgets that she is a Christian school and emphasis is put upon the development of the moral and religious life. This training has shown itself in the lives of its alumni. The 166 young men and women who have graduated from Cookman and the multitudes of others who have attended the school have gone out to fill many important posts. One became a Bishop of the African Methodist Episcopal Church, another became a judge, and a third is the Minister of the United States Government to Haiti. The list includes many others.

The fine spirit of the alumni is well expressed by a recent graduating class which left a gift of $140 for the school, and in presenting it said:

For four years we have been studying in the institute the philosophy of true living. These have been happy years. We leave our Alma Mater with a deep love for her history and traditions; and we shall retain the habit of study which we have learned here. What we have learned here can never be taken from us. We look upon our dear school with much honor and gratitude. .. Deep within our hearts we are wishing that our dear Alma Mater may attain a yet grander future than has ever yet been dreamed for her.

CHAPTER V

AN EASTERN COLLEGE

[ocr errors]

Morgan College and Princess Anne Academy

On Christmas Eve in the year 1866 five interested men gathered in a room in the city of Baltimore to consider the question of the organization of a school for Negroes in that city. The conference resulted in the appointment of a temporary board of trustees for the proposed institution. On the 25th of November of the following year a charter was granted to the school under the name Centenary Biblical Institute. Soon after this a few candidates for the Chris

tian ministry were enrolled in classes and these classes met in local churches. The subjects taught were those deemed appropriate as a preparation for the ministry. Those pupils who needed further training in the common English branches were sent to the Baltimore Normal School and their tuition was paid.

[graphic]

PRESIDENT JOHN O. SPENCER

A HOME FOR THE SCHOOL
But a school needs a home, and a home was dili-

[ocr errors]

gently sought for this new institution. Finally a dwelling house, located at 14 Saratoga Street, was purchased and transformed for school purposes. On October 9, 1869, the school was formally opened in its new home. The Rev. J. Emory Round was made principal. Although soon outgrowing its facilities, the school remained in its original quarters for eleven years. Dr. and Mrs. John F.: Goucher then donated a lot at the corner of Fulton and Edmondson Avenues, upon which a fine new stone building was erected. The corner-stone was laid June 16, 1880.

CHANGED TO MORGAN COLLEGE

The scope of the school, which had been started with the primary purpose of training young Negro ministers, enlarged as the years passed. The curriculum was gradually expanded to include normal and other academic courses, and women were admitted to the school on the same basis as men. In 1890 a new charter was secured and the name was changed to Morgan College in honor of Dr. Lyttleton F. Morgan, president of the Board of Trustees. The school endeavored to maintain high scholastic standards, and the work commended itself to Mr. Andrew Carnegie so that after careful investigation he offered to give fifty thousand dollars for the erection of a college building on condition that the school raise an equal amount for college endowment. The school did its part and raised the fifty

thousand dollars, more than half of which was given by colored people. At that time it was expected that the building would be erected near the old site on Edmondson Avenue. It became evident, however, that the school would not have adequate room for expansion there, and the new building was postponed until a suitable location could be secured.

In all of the progress made Dr. John F. Goucher, who for many years has been President of the Board of Trustees, has been a helpful and inspiring factor. He has given of his time, talents, and money to the furtherance of the plans of Morgan College and its branch schools. He has stood side by side with President J. O. Spencer, who with the skill born of experience and large executive ability has guided the school out into its present large field of usefulness.

THE PRESENT LOCATION

After diligent search a suitable property was discovered just at the outskirts of the city of Baltimore, and the Ivy Mills tract of forty-two acres was purchased June 1, 1917. This property, located at Hillen Road and Arlington Avenue, has since its purchase been made a part of the city of Baltimore. The right to purchase and hold this property for purposes of Negro education was sharply contested in the courts, but was fully established. On September 27, 1919, an additional adjoining tract of forty

[graphic][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]
« НазадПродовжити »