Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub

PHILANDER SMITH COLLEGE Thomas Mason..

.1888-1892 J. M. Cox.

1897

GILBERT ACADEMY

W. D. Godman..

1888-1897 A. E. P. Albert.

. 1898-1899 Pierre Landry..

1900-1904 H. W. McDonald.

1905-1907 J. T. Matthews.

.1908-1911 J. R. Reynolds.

1912-1919 (Transferred to New Orleans College)

[blocks in formation]
[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

SAMUEL HUSTON COLLEGE R. S. Lovinggood.

.1899-1916 M. S. Davage.

1917-1919 J. B. Randolph..

. 1920

BENNETT COLLEGE
E O. Thayer.
W. F. Steele..
C. F. Grandison.
J. D. Chavis.
S. A. Peeler.
J. J. Wallace.
Frank Trigg.

1875-1879 .1880-1889 .1890-1892

1897-1904 . 1905-1913

1914-1916 .1917

GEORGE R. SMITH COLLEGE

E. A. Robertson.
I. L. Lowe..
A. C. Maclin.

.1897-1901 .1902-1907 .1908-1910

J. C. Sherrill....
George Evans.
M. S. Davage..
R. B. Hayes...

1911-1912 1913-1914

1915-1916 ..1917

HAVEN NORMAL SCHOOL

Waynesboro, Ga. J. R. Goodyear..

...1872-1874 C. W. McMahon.

.1875-1877 C. P. Wellman.

. 1878-1879 Carrie Fairchild.

.1888-1892 Percy Gifford..

1898 Thomas Tisdall.

.1899 H. R. Bulkley.

1900-1901 W. H. Bryan..

1902-1903 R. W. S. Thomas.

. 1904-1907 E. T. Barksdale.

1908-1911 W. M. Gordon..

(Discontinued)

. 1912

CENTRAL ALABAMA INSTITUTE

Miss M. Hindman.
Miss M. M. Harrington.
Mrs. C. W. Munson..
Mrs. Mary L. Raines.
D. S. Brandon.
A. W. McKinney.
W. L. Riley..
R. G. Robinson.
B. H. Ball....
W. R. A. Palmer.
A. P. Camphor.
J. B. F. Shaw.
R. N. Brooks.

1868-1870
1871-1874
1875-1876
1877-1878
1879-1881
1888-1900
1901
1902
1903-1904
1905-1907
1908-1916
1917-1920
1921-

HISTORICAL MEMORANDA

1866 August 7th, Sth. The Freedmen's Aid Society

of the Methodist Episcopal Church organized in

Trinity Church, Cincinnati, Ohio. 1866 August 20th. First meeting of the Executive

Committee. 1868 General Conference commended work of the So

ciety to the Church. (1868-1872) In the latter part of this quadrennium aid

was first given to white school work in the South by relieving the Seminary at Ellijay, Georgia, of

embarrassing debt. 1870 November 1st. Society incorporated "for the

relief and education of Freedmen and others, especially in cooperation with the Missionary and Church Extension Societies of the Methodist

Episcopal Church." 1872 General Conference approved Act of Incorpora

tion of the Society and constituted it one of the Benevolent Societies of the Church. Collections first reported in General Minutes and $100,000 apportioned to the Annual Conferences for the

work. 1880 The specific approval of the white school work

by the General Conference was followed by its

steady extension. 1888 Name modified so as to read, “The Freedmen's

Aid and Southern Education Society;" and educational work among both colored and white people in the Southern States placed under di

rection of this Society. 1892 Charter amended providing for a General Com

mittee to represent the whole Church in man

aging the Society. 1900 General Conference appointed Commission to

consider Benevolent Societies and make plan for

consolidation. 1902 July 2d. Commission met at Ocean Grove, N. J.,

and recommended that the Freedmen's Aid and Southern Education Society be directed to obtain from the State of Ohio an amended Act of Incorporation under the corporate name of “The Board of Education, Freedmen's Aid, and Sun

day Schools of the Methodist Episcopal Church.” 1904 Report of Commission adopted by General Con

ference. 1906 December 31st. Charter amended as above. 1907 February 26th. First meeting of Consolidated

Board. 1908 General Conference ordered reorganization of

Consolidated Society. Committed work of establishing and maintaining Institutions among Negroes of the South to "The Freedmen's Aid Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church." Maintenance and administration of white schools of the South to the “Board of Education of the

Methodist Episcopal Church." 1908 July 9th. Final meeting of Consolidated Board.

Organization of Board of Managers of the Freedmen's Aid Society. Amendment to Charter rec

ommended. 1908 October 14th. Charter amended. 1916 General Committee discontinued by General

Conference. 1916 Lincoln Sunday to be observed in all the

churches, by order of General Conference. 1920 General Conference directed change of name to

the Board of Education for Negroes, of the Methodist Episcopal Church. December 3, 1920, amended charter secured from the State of Ohio. Office of Board, 420 Plum Street, Cincinnati, Ohio.

« НазадПродовжити »