Зображення сторінки

of the Orangeburg Female College were purchased and Claflin University, named after a former governor of Massachusetts, was organized. More than three hundred students were enrolled the first year. In 1872 the State of South Carolina established the South Carolina Agricultural and Mechanical College at Orangeburg in connection with Claflin. An experimental farm was provided and industrial training was largely developed in addition to the classical course which was maintained from the first. In 1896, pursuant to a policy adopted by the General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, these two schools were separated so far as management was concerned, although they still remain friendly neighbors with campuses adjoining. Since 1883 the trustees of the John F. Slater Fund have contributed regularly to the work of the Industrial Department. Their liberality has made the extended industrial development possible.


Claflin College has an excellent campus of about fifty acres with a score or more of buildings well adapted to school purposes. The principal ones are a fine and modern main building, a large and commodious girls' dormitory, a large boys' dormitory, a home where girls from the surrounding country may live and provide their own food while in school, a library building, a dining hall, and a large industrial building. The campus is conveniently located just at the edge of the city of Orangeburg and


CLAFLIN COLLEGE Tingley Hall, a Campus Scene, and The Boys' Dormitory

within easy walking distance of the railroad station. The region round about is largely devoted to the raising of cotton. From these farms crude, untaught Negro boys and girls come to Claflin, where, as they go through the various departments of the school, they are gradually transformed into alert, intelligent, and useful citizens. Some go into the trades; some teach school; some become Christian ministers; and some go on to professional schools to study medicine, dentistry, the law, or theology. It has been said that a list of the district superintendents and leading ministers of the South Carolina Conference, which is the largest Negro Conference in the Methodist Episcopal Church, together with a list of the leading colored lawyers, physicians, and business men of the entire region, would almost be a list of the graduates and former pupils of Claflin. Many of them were converted in the special meetings held nearly every year on the Claflin campus.



President and Mrs. L. M. Dunton are both from New York State. While attending Syracuse University Mr. Dunton's health became seriously impaired, and he was obliged to go South to a

a milder climate. In 1873 he arrived in Orangeburg, where he be


came a teacher and where without premeditation on his part he discovered his life work among the colored people of the South. His direct connection with the school was not continuous. served for several years as pastor and presiding elder until 1883, when he was elected vice-president of Claflin. A few months later, in 1884, he became president of the school. Since that time the remarkable development of Claflin has been closely interwoven with the earnest and effective service of Dr. Dunton and his talented and cultured wife.

The part which Mrs. Dunton has played has been a a most important one. Although working most of the time without salary, she has given herself unreservedly to serving in the classroom and in the field, promoting the work. With her skill and thorough training in modern languages perfected by years of diligent study and travel abroad, she has made a most varied contribution to the school. The influence of Mrs. Dunton has not been limited to the campus, however. During the years when Dr. Dunton's health would not permit him to be in the North during the winter, she traveled widely, presenting the work of the school and making friends for it. She spoke in nearly every State from Maine to California, and that she spoke effectively the many buildings on the Claflin campus testify. One of them, against her will, is named in her honor. The finest building on the campus, Tingley Hall, used as the main college building, came as the result of her courtesy to a stranger at the Orangeburg station. She has played an important role in building up the remarkable Music Department at Claflin, and in a multitude of other ways has left her imprint upon the life of the school. Whenever the story of Claflin is told it will record the nearly half a century of devoted service given by President and Mrs. Dunton.

THE FUTURE OF THE SCHOOL The future of Claflin is full of promise. The fine traditions of the school, the good physical equipment, and the distressing need on every hand for its ministry provide the setting for a future of unusual usefulness. It is important, however, that the present small endowment of this school be substantially increased if it is to measure up to the demands placed upon it.

Bennett College

Bennett College, at Greensboro, North Carolina, was organized by the Freedmen's Aid Society in 1873. It occupies an attractive campus just at the edge of the city. Throughout its history it has been characterized by the devotion of its colored constituency to it and by the usefulness of the lives of its graduates. It records among its alumni more than twenty doctors and a goodly number of merchants, teachers, dentists, college professors, farmers, postal clerks, and others. In the turning of men to the ministry Bennett College has an en

« НазадПродовжити »