« НазадПродовжити »
building for the books to be secure against fire, "on a plan to be approved by the Directors, and to be open at all proper hours, for the use of the public, according to the regulations of the Directors."
By an ordinance of the city anthorities, passed December 23rd, 1859, a Free Public Library was established, and the donations of Dr. Green and the Worcester Lyceum and Library Association, the former consisting of 7,000 volumes, and the latter of 4,500 volumes, were accepted ; and at the same time provision was made for the appointment of a Board of Directors, with all the necessary powers for appointing a librarian, and all subordinate officers, and expending any money which may be appropriated for the erection, furniture and repairs of a building, and warming and lighting the same, and for the purchase of books. By an act of the Legislature approved February 2, 1860, the action of the city authorities was approved, and the City Council are authorized to provide for the erection of a suitable building, and to appropriate annually the further sum of five thousand dollars for the increase of the library. A building for the accommodation of the Green Library of Reference, the Free Circulating Library and other kindred institutions was commenced in 1860, on Elm Street, and was opened for occupancy in 1862—at a cost for site, building, and equipment of $30,000.
According to the (third) Annual Report of the Directors, submitted January, 1863, there were in January, 1863, in the Free Public Library Building of Worcester, about 20,000 volumes, viz., in the Green Library, 10,000 volumes; in the Circulating Department, 6,077 volumes; in the Worcester District Medical Library, 3,500 volumes; in the Worcester Farmer's Club Library, 500 volumes, besides the Cabinet and Library of the Worcester Natural History Society. To the annual increase of the library by donation, Dr. Green has been the largest contributor. He enjoys the privilege, not always appreciated by the collectors of valuable books, of sharing with his fellow-citizens, the pleasures and advantages to be derived from consulting and reading the oldest and the latest additions to human knowledge and intellectual enjoyment.
The Directors in their Report for 1862, remark: "The Free Public Library is now a fixed and permanent institution of the city. It has overcome the difficulties and oppositions of its origin and is an incorporated portion of our educational system. Already the number of those availing themselves of its privileges is greater than that of the scholars in our public schools. Nor are these privileges few or slight. The Green Library is one, the possession of which, whether we regard the number or the character of its
books, might justly be a source of congratulation and pride to any community. It is already nearly as large as the Library of Mr. Parker, presented to the city of Boston, and much better adapted to the varied wants of a community like Worcester. It contains nearly twice the number of volumes of the Dowse Library of Cambridge, whose consecration to the public use was deemed worthy a public celebration, and an oration by Mr. Everett.
In its Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Gazetteers, works of general reference; in its historical department, European and American; in its illustrated books of art and architecture; in its collection of works on Natural Science, choice and costly; in its books of Geography and travels and in all its miscellaneous departments, the Green Library is rich and ample. It is a treasury of knowledge nobly and generously provided for the intellectual wants of our city. And it is peculiarly fortunate and proper that in this city, distinguished for the mechanical genius and enterprise of its citizens, for their independence of thought and restless desire for progress, in matters both physical and intellectual, there should be one public place consecrated to the diffusion of knowledge, free and universal, within whose walls the jar of political and religious discord may never come, all whose influences shall be softening and elevating, improving the character of the present generation and moulding the next for something still higher and better."
Among the Regulations adopted by the Directors for the government of the Library are the following :
All persons resident in the city of Worcester, fifteen years old and upwards, shall be entitled to the use of the Circulating Department of the Free Public Library, on subscribing the following agreement:
I hereby certify that I am a resident of the city of Worcester, and in consideration of the right to use the Free Public Library, agree to comply with the regulations that may be provided for its government.
One book may be taken at a time, and kept two weeks; but recent additions may be limited to a circulation of one week, at the discretion of the Library Committee.
A fine of two cents a day shall be assessed on every book kept over time, payable on its return. No pen or pencil marks shall be made in books. Persons taking books shall be held responsible for their loss or injury; and when a set is broken by a loss of one, this responsibility extends to the whole set. Should it be necessary to send for a book kept beyond the time allowed, the expense shall be paid by the person keeping it.
The Library will be open from 9, A. M., to 1, P. M.; from 2 to 5, P. M., and from 64 to 8, P. M. On Saturday, it will be open until 9, P. M.
The Green Library shall be open daily to the public, during the same hours prescribed for the Circulating Department.
The public may take down freely any of the books of reference on the North side of the lower floor. Other books will be promptly delivered by the Librarian, on verbal application, and must be returned to him again, before leaving the room.
Persons may ask for as many books as they require, for purposes of consultation and reading, and are entitled to all proper facilities for their use. Provided, that in case of rare and costly works, the Librarian may adopt such additional restrictions as prove necessary.
The library is under the charge of Mr. Z. Baker, as librarian, with two assistants.
X. SCHOOL ARCHITECTURE.
Plans of HAVEN SCHOOL-BUILDING, CHICAGO, ILLINOIS. THE HAVEN SCHOOL-BUILDING, named after LUTHER HAVEN, the President of the Board of Education at the time, and who had been an active member of the same since 1851, is located on Wabash Avenue, south of Twelfth Street. The lot has a frontage of 150 feet. The buiding is three stories high, besides a basement and an attic. The plans here shown are of the principal story and the attic, the latter of which is 14 feet high in the clear, and contains a ball 66 feet by 38 feet 8 inches, for general exercises of the school, with closets for apparatus, teachers'
Figure 2.-FOURTH FLOOR.
F.-Closet for Apparatus.
G-Teachers' Closets. closets, and wardrobes attached; and a Gymnasium in which the female pupils of the school may exercise, in inclement weather. Owing to the peculiar construction of the roof, this attic story is quite as serviceable for the purpose for which it was designed, as would have been either of the full stories, and it cost much less. The basement is mainly divided into four large rooms, with corridors, and stairways; one of the rooms being used for fuel, and the balance as a place of recreation for the boys, in foul weather. The principal or ground floor, (one of the two shown in the annexed engraving, Fig. 2.,) has four school-rooms, each having a wardrobe and teacher's closet attached; spacious corridors, with entrances on each side of the house for pupils, and a principal entrance in
Figure 3.-FIRST FLOOR.
H.-Boiler House. front. The side doors do not open directly into the corridors, but into vestibules, from which, other doors open to the corridors and also to the stairways leading to the basement. The second and third floors only differ from the first in having windows, in place of the outside doors and vestibules of the first floor; and the second floor has a reception or Principal's retiring room, about 10 by 20 feet, cut off from that part of the corridor towards the front of the house.