« НазадПродовжити »
which this reptile lay, was about twelve inchez long, and six wide. In a stone quarry, at Harwood, was found, about thirty years ago, eighteen feet below the surface, a stag's horn, enclosed in the solid rock. This horn was in the possession of Mr. Joshua Craven, fate of Harwood.
HERE are also found, many of the ancient domestic mill-stones, called querns, consisting of one circular fat stone, of about eighteen inches diameter, upon which, was placed the upper-stone, nearly shaped like a sugar-loaf, with a hole quite through the middle, from top to bottom; on the side, was a handle fixed. The whole was placed on a cloth, and the grinder poured in the corn with one hand, and with the other, turned the upper-stone with a rapid motion, while the meal run out at the sides, and fell upon the cloth. This method of gộinding, was exceedingly tedious ; and, would employ two pair of hands, four hours, to grind one bushel of corn, -As most of the upper-stones have a piece broken off the sides of each, it is probable, they were all rendered useless, by order of the lord of each manor, after tặe invention of wind, and water-mills.
This forest abounded with wild boars, the red and fallow deer, and other animals of chase. Free ingress and egress are reserved for the wildheasts here, in certain lands adjoining to this forest, granted to the priory of Knaresbrough, and confirmed to them, by Edward II., as appears by the following extract from the charter: “Salvis nobis, et hæredi. “ bus nostris,'-bestiis nostris silvestribus, ita quod libe
rum habeant introitum, et exitum sicut prius “ habere consueverunt in predictis.
The fox, hare, and badger; the black, and red moor-game; grey, and green plover; curlew, and snipe; the wild-duck, and widgeon; still afford ample amusement for the sportsman, in different parts of this forest.
In the unimproved parts, and particularly the open stray, about Harrogate, great numbers of young oaks are seen springing up every summer; which, were they not cropped by the cattle, would probably, in a course of years, restore to this place the appearanoe it had many centuries ago.
Harrogate to Bilton-park.-Conyngham-house.
Scriven.--Scotton.-Farnham.-Copgrove. -Brereton. Nidd.-Ripley.
ONE mile east from High-Harrogate, is a bridge
-, a over a small brook, called Star-beck. About two hundred yards on the right of this bridge, are two springs, formerly in great repute, but now quite negłected: the distance betwixt these springs is only 18 yards; and yet, one of them is a sulphur water, and the other, a chalybeate. These were called the Knaresbrough spaws.
HALF a mile from hence, on the left of the road leading to Knaresbrough, is
PROBABLY derived from the British Bilain, a a farmer, a tenant in villenage. PETER SLINGSBY, esq., resided here, about the year 1500. Captain WILLIAM SLINGSBY, also, in 1751. The family of Stockdales, were afterwards lords of this place, for more
than one hundred years, who bore for their arms Ermine, on a bend sable, three pheons argent, in the sinister chief, an escallop-shell gules-Crest, a talbot passant, proper,
WILLIAM STOCKDALE, of Green-Hammerton, was living in 1506. He had a numerous issue; amongst whom, was Thomas Stockdale, of Bilton-park.
WILLIAM STOCKDALE, esq., member in parliament, for Knaresbrough, obit 1693.
CHRISTOPHER STOCKDALE, esq., represented the borough of Knaresbrough, in several parliaments; obit 1713. He was succeeded by William Stockdale, who was living here in the year 1720, and was a sufferer in the infamous South-sea scheme, which ruined some hundreds of families,
FROM the family of Stockdale, this estate passed, by sale, to that of Watson; John Farside Watson, esq., being the present possessor. This gentleman is descended from John Farside, of Farside, in Scotland, who came into England in the reign of James I., and was made bow-bearer in the forest of Pickering, in the county of York; he chiefly resided at Filingdale, in Whitby-strand, and bore for his arms, gules, a fess, or, between three bezants. Bilton-hall has every advantage of situation, and commands an extensive prospect.
In the park, is a spring of sulphur-water; also, several petrifying springs, near which, are found mosses, and other vegetable substances, on which, incrustations have been formed. Marble, alabaster, and coal, are likewise found iu different parts of this estate,
GAMELBAR had, in Bilton, before the conquest, three carucates and a half of land, and as much arable as was sufficient for two ploughs. Gilbert Tyson had these lands, 20th William I., and they were then uncultivated or waste, only Bilton paid 3s. rent. :
PROCEEDING towards Knaresbrough, observe, within half a mile of the town, a vista, of considerable length, formed by the trees on each side the road, and terminated by an elegant mansion, the seat of James
In the back ground is seen Claro-hill, wooded to the very summit, and the temple in Allerton-park; from hence, the scene is beautifully varied, till you arrive at the bridge, near which is
SITUATED on a small elevation, above the river Nidd; the length of the south-front is one hundred