« НазадПродовжити »
which turn upon
of the Tower, lately reprinted for T. CARNAN in St. Paul's Church Yard.) The walls, as well of the nave as of the south isles, are wrought into the most curious imagery imaginable, and contain 120 large ftatues of patriarchs, saints, martyrs, and confeffors, placed in niches, under which are angels supporting imperial crowns, besides innumerable small ones, all of hem esteemed so curious, that the best mallers have travelled from abroad to copy them. The windows, which are 13 on each side above, and as many below, in the north and south isles, besides the spacious east window, jut out into the Gothic towers, and were formerly of painted or diapered glass, have ing in every pane a white rose, the badge of Lancaster, or an D, the initial letter of the founder's name, and portculliffes, the badge of the Beauforts crowned, of which a few only are now remaining. The roof is Aattilh, and is fupported on arches between the nave and fide-ifles,
twelve stately Gothic pillars curiously adorned with figures, fruitage, and foliage. The length of this chapel within, is 99 feet, the breadth 66, and the height 54.
And here we cannot omit taking notice of a moit beautiful window that was designed for this chapel. It was made by order of the magiftrates of Dort, in Holland, and designed by them as a present to Henry VIIth. but that monarch dying before it was finished, it was set up in Waltham Abbey, where it remained till the dissolution of that monastery, when it was removed to New-Hall, in Eflex, then in possession of General Monk, and by him preferved during the civil wars. Some years ago John Olmius, Esq. the then poffeffor of New-Hall, fold it to Mr. Conyers of Copt-Hall, who refuld it to the inhabitants of St. Margaret's parish in 1758, for 400 guineas; and it now adorns St. Margaret's church. Thus has it arrived near to the place for which it was originally intended ; but is never likely £o reach it. The grand subject is that of our Savi.
our's crucifixion : but there are many subordinate figures ; those at the bottom of the two side-pannels represent Henry VII. and his Queen, and were taken from orignal pictures sent to Dort for that purpose. Over the King is the figure of St. George, and above that a white rose within a red one. Over the figure of the Queen stands that of St. Catherine, of Alexandria, and in a pannel over her head appears a pomegranate, Vert, in a field of Or, the arms of the kingdom of Grenada. Of the Tombs and other MONUMENTS in the
several CHAPEL 6. The names of the several chapels, beginning from the south cross, and so palling round to the northcross, are, in order, as follows : 1. St. Benedict ; 2. St. Edmund; 3. St. Nicholas ; 4. Henry VII. 5. St. Paul; 6. St. John the Baptift; 7. Inip's chapel ; 8. St John the Evangelift ; 9. St. Michael ; and 10. St. Andrew; the three laft, however, arc now laid together. Besides the above, the chapel of Edward the Confeffor stands as it were in the center; and, as has been said, is inclosed in the body of the church.
Of the Chapel of St. BENEDICT. In the chapel of St. Benedict you are shewn an antient tomb of free:Strone, railed with iron on the fide next the area, having formerly a canopy of wood, now quite demolished and broken away; on which lies the effigy of Archbishop Langham, who was first a Monk, afterwads a Prior, then an Abbot of Westminfter, and lastly Archbishop of Canterbury. There is a Latin epitaph round his tomb, setting forth, " that he was Monk, Prior, and Abbot of this Abbey; afterwards elected Bishop of London ; but Ely being then also vacant, be made choice of that see; that he was Primale and Chancellor of England ; Prieft-cardinal, afterwards Bilhup-cardinal of Prenefte and Nuncio from the Pope ; and that he died on the feast of St. Mary Magdalen, in the year 1376, on whose soul God have mercy, and grant him the joys of heaven for the merits of Chrilt.” Next is a stately and curious monument of black-and-white marble, on which are two images in a cumbent posture, representing an antient nobleman in his robes with his lady. This monument was erected in memory of Lyonel Cranfield, Earl of Middlesex, by his relict Lady Anne. The Latin inscription on this monument is to this effect :
“ Sacred to the memory of Lyonel Lord Cranfield, Earl of Middlesex, who by that discerning prince K. James I. being called to court, was for his excellent parts bountifully rewarded both with honors and fortune; being made Master of the Requefts, and of the Wardrobe, Prelident of the Court of Wards, and Privy Counsellor. The new and illustrious, as well as dificult province of Lord Treasurer of England, he filled: which services, how indefatigably he underwent, his titles of Knight, Baron Cranfield, and Jaftly Earl of Middlesex, with various other honors, abundamıly teftify. From hence Envy rising, her útmost efforts were exerted to raise storms againft him, whilft he, boldly standing on his guard, encouraged by the consciousness of his innocence, was grievously coffed about ; but happily escaping shipwreck, in a composed winter of life, cast anchor, and finished his course in a retired leisure. Here lying concealed, being wearied out first, and wasted afterwards, this pilot was roused up to undertake a safer voyage, and made the port of heaven. 'He died the oth of Auguft, 1645, aged about 70. He was twice marsied; by his first wife he had three daughters, Elizabeth, Countess of Mulgrave; Martha, Countefs of Monmouth; and Mary, who died unmar'ried. By the second, who survived him, he had three sons and two daughters, James," heir to the honor of Earl Middlesex ; Lyonel and Edward ;
Frances, Frances, Lady Buckhurst; and Susannah, who died
Near Bishop Langham's tomb, is another about 18 inches from the ground, on which is engraven on a brass plate, the figure of an old man in a doctor's habit, designed for Dr. William Bill, Dean of Westminster, Master of Eton College, head of Trinity in Cambridge, and Chief Almoner to Q. Elizabeth, as appears by his inscription. He died July 5, 1561. On a brass plate are some Latin verses, setting forth, " that he was a good and learned man, and a friend to those that were fo; that he was just and charitable; and that the poor, as well as the three colleges over which he prelided, sustained an irreparable loss by his death."
Co the east, on the very spot where stood the altar of St Benedict, is now a fine monument of various kinds of marble, to the memory of Lady Frances, Countess of Hertford who is here represented in her robes in a cumbent posture, with her head resting on an embroidered cushion, and her feet on a lion's back. The sculpture of this monument is extremely curious, and well worth attention. It seems to represent a stately temple, where the enfigns and devices of the noble families of Somerset and Effingham appear to be the chief ornaments. The Latin inscripcions set forth, “ that she was wife to the noble Earl of Hertford, fon to the renowned Prince Edward, Duke of Somerset, Earl of Hertford, Viccount Beauchamp, and Baron Seymour: that the was daughter to the noble Lord William, Baron Howard, of Effingham, Knight of the Guster, High Admiral to Q. Mary, and Lord Chamberlain and Privy Seal to Q. Elizabeth, &c. That, for her many graces both of mind and body, she was highly favoured by her gracious sovereign, and dearly loved by her noble lord; who in testimony of his inviolable affection, consecrated to her memory this monu
ment. She died in the 44th year of her age, May 14, 1598.'
On the south side of this chapel is a monument affixed to the wall, to the memory of Dr. Gabriel Goodman, who is here represented kneeling in his
The Latin inscription intimates, is that he was the fifth Dean of this church, over which he presided for 40 years with much applause; that he founded an hospital, and instituted a school at Ruthvin, in Denbighihire, where he was born ; that he was a man of regular and devout life; and that he died in 1601, aged 73."
On the same fide, and under the adjoining arch, is a neat table monument of white marble, to the memory of George Sprat, fecond son of Dr. Thomas Sprat, Bishop of Rochester, and Dean of Westminster, by his wife Helena, descended from the antient and honorable family of the Wolseys, in Stafforolhire, who lies interred in the chapel of St. Ni. cholas. He died an infant of a year old, in 1683.
Belides those above recited, there lies interred in this chapel, Catherine, daughter to Dr. Dolben, Bifhop of Rochester, Dean of Westminster, and af terwards Archbishop of York; a Countess of Kildare in Ireland; and Dr. John Spotswood, Lord ArchBishop of St. Andrew's, Primate and Lord Chancellor of Scotland, who died in 1640.
Between this chapel and the next, you will observe, affixed in the wall, a monument of Mosaic work, the fides in plain pannels, but the top of the table wrought in figures, faid to be done with the same kind of stones as the floor before the altar, and erected for the children of Henry III. and Edward 1. Over this tomb is something which seems to have been a piece of church-perspective, but now almost defaced. This certainly was once a rich and costly monument: for in the records of the Tower, there is the King's order for erecting such a one in this place, and for allowing Master Simon de Wells