Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

Передня обкладинка
Penguin, 2006 - 398 стор.

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug--the boll weevil--world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

 

Відгуки відвідувачів - Написати рецензію

LibraryThing Review

Рецензія користувача  - ASBiskey - LibraryThing

My wife, who usually doesn’t read non-fiction, read this book and enjoyed and recommended it. I wear cotton every day. Almost every piece of clothing I own is cotton, because cotton is comfortable ... Читати огляд повністю

LibraryThing Review

Рецензія користувача  - mnicol - LibraryThing

The first eight chapters are brilliant. The best integrated account I have read of cotton, weaving, technology and the essential contribution of slavery to the industrial revolution. The ninth chapter ... Читати огляд повністю

Зміст

Introduction
1
Spun in All Directions
9
Star Turns
25
The Barber from Preston
39
Revolutionary Fiber
70
Southern Exposure
147
Changing Fortunes
173
The Shirt on Your Back
270
Fields of Conflict
305
Afterword
338
Glossary
345
Bibliography
375
Acknowledgments
381
Авторські права

Інші видання - Показати все

Загальні терміни та фрази

Про автора (2006)

Stephen Yafa, a novelist, playwright, and award-winning screenwriter, has written for Playboy, Details, Rolling Stone, and the San Francisco Chronicle.

Бібліографічна інформація