Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub

house, twelve in number, when the ould wall of this bulwork fell down three stories high, and so broad, as two carts might enter a-breast, and yet without any

harm to anie of their persones. The Lord santify this his great providence unto them. Amen and

amen.

" It was Tuesday, the 23d of September, 1651." In Woodroffe Lane, are fourteen almshouses, founded by Sir John Milborne, mayor, in 1521, for aged poor men and their wives; they are under the patronage of the Drapers Company

Adjoining is Savage Gardens. This was part of the possessions of the dissolved monastery belonging to the bro-thers of the Holy Cross, or Crutched Friars. Henry VIII. having granted the site to Sir Thomas Wyat, the elder *, that gentleman erected a mansion upon the spot; which afterwards was possessed by John Lord Lumley, a celebrated warrior in the same reign, who distinguished himself at Flodden Field, by his valour and the number of men he brought into the battle. His zeal for the Popish interest, however, urged him to engage in the rebellion denominated « The Pilgrimage of Grace;" from the effects of which, he with much dexterity extricated himself and his adherents. His only sou soon after lost his head for being concerned in another insurrection. John Lord Lumley, grandson of the first, was among the few nobility of that time who had a taste for literature. His sister married Humphrey Llwyd, Esq. the Denbighshire antiquary; by whose assistance Lord Lumley formed a considerable library, part of which is at present a valuable portion of the British Museum.

[ocr errors]

* This was the gentleman whom Anthony Wood calls “The Delight of the Muses, and of Mankind.” He had the honour to be in great intimacy with the congenial peer, Henry Earl of Surrey. They were the joint refiners of English poetry; and their elegant effusions are united in a little book published in 1585, intitled, “ Songes and Sonnets, by the right honorable Henry Howard, late Earl of Surrey, and others.” Sir Thomas died in 1541, of a violent sever, in Dorsetshire, contracted by hard riding, to conduct to court the emperor's ambassador, who had landed at Falmouth. He was highly celebrated by his noble friend, and by every person of genius in the age in which he lived. Pennant.

a

[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed]

The next inhabitant was Sir Thomas Savage, afterwards Lord Savage, and Earl Rivers, in the reign of James I. and Charles I. ; from the latter nobleman the estate take its name of Savage Gardens.

Returning to Tower Hill, the perambulator is attracted by a stone building, called

THE TRINITY HOUSE. This structure is a beautiful specimen of the ability of Samuel Wyatt, Esq. It forms a grand front of two series opposite the Tower, toward the Thames; the lower story is composed of rustic work, with arched windows; the upper, consisting of the court room and adjoining apartments, forms an assemblage of elegance without incumbered ornaments. The two ends of the front project from the centre, the whole being supported by pillars and pilasters ; as are the two ends and the midddle windows, which afford a spacious light to the inside of the building: The interior is equally chaste and beautiful. The court room is spacious, light, and convenient, and the other offices are properly adapted for transacting the various concerns of this benevolent and useful corporation.

Among the curiosities preserved in the old hall of the Trinity House, situated in Water Lane, Tower Street, were a flag taken from the Spaniards by Sir Francis Drake; the portraits of that great commander, Sir John Leake, and other eminept men; a large and exact model of a ship entirely rigged; two very large globes, and five fine pen-andink drawings of naval engagements in the reign of Charles II. These now form part of the furniture of the

present fabric.

The society, to which it belongs, was founded in the year 1515, by Sir Thomas Spert, knt. commander of the great ship Henry Grace de Dieu, and comptroller of the navy to Henry VIII. for the regulation of seamen and the convenience of ships and mariners on our coast, and incorporated by the above-mentioned prince, who confirmed to them not only the antient rights and privileges of the comVol. II. No. 36.

Еe

pany

[ocr errors]

pany of mariners of England, but their several possessions at Deptford ; which, together with the grants of Queen Elizabeth and King Charles II. were also confirmed by letters. patent of the first of James II. in 1685, by the name of " The Master Wardens and Assistants of the Guild or Fra. ternity of the most glorious and undivided Trinity, and of St. Clement, in the Parish of Deptford Strond, in the County of Kent.”

This corporation is governed by a master, four wardens, eight assistants, and eighteen elder brethren; but the inferior inembers are of an unlimited number, for every master or mate expert in navigation may be admitted as such ; and these serve as a continual nursery to supply the vacancies among the elder brethren, when removed by death or otherwise.

The master, wardens, assistants and elder brethren, are by charter invested with the following powers :

1. That of examining the mathematical children of Christ's Hospital.

2. The examination of the masters of his majesty's ships ; the appointing pilots to conduct ships in and out of the river Thames; and the amercing all such as shall presume to act as master of a ship of war or pilot, without their approbation, in a pecuniary mulct of 20s.

3. The settling the several rates of pilotage, and erecting light-houses and other sea-marks upon the several coasts of the kingdom, for the security of navigation; to which light-houses all ships pay one halfpenny a ton.

4. The granting licences to poor seamen, not free of the city, to row on the river Thames for their support, in the intervals of sea service, or when past going to sea.

5. The preventing of aliens from serving on board English ships, without their licence, upon the penalty of 51. for each offence.

6. The punishing of seamen for desertion or mutiny in the merchants service,

7. The hearing and determining the complaints of officers and seamen in the merchants service; but subject to

an

« НазадПродовжити »