Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub

1

plunder for subsistence until they can be overtaken by the slow and reluctant hand of criminal justice?

The number of children within the society's walls at present, are one hundred and twenty-one boys, (of whom fifteen are in the Reform, and one hundred and six in the manufactory), and forty-eight girls.

In the CHAPEL, the erection of which cost 78311. 16s. 10d. is a good organ, which cost 9761, 75. 11d. The windows have stained glass, put up at the expence of one of the vice-presidents.

At the bottom of Prospect Place, are The FISHMONGERS ALMSHOUSES. The most antient is St. Peter's HOSPITAL; the entrance to which is by a pair of iron gates, opening to the centre of a lofty, but irregular building, composed of two quadrangles, a hall and a chapel. To the south of these is the foundation of Mr. James Hulbert, a liveryman of the company, in 1719. The statue of that gentleman, is in the centre of the

square. It appears that the Fishmongers Company erected St. Peter's Hospital by virtue of letters patent granted by James I. in 1618, for the reception of several of their poor menibers who had pensions bequeathed to them by the wills of the more opulent members. Thirteen of the pensioners were beadsmen and aged women, who received from the year 1513, the sum of eight-pence per week, in consequence of the bequest of Sir Thomas Knesworth, a great benefactor to the Fishmongers company. Sir Thomas Hunt, in 1615, had left 201. 10s. per annum towards the support of six antient poor men and women; and Mr. Richard Edmunds bad bequeathed, in 1620, an annual sum of 61. towards the maintenance of two poor persons; which number of twenty one pensioners, with one added by the company, were all placed in this hospital: there were also added an annuity of 281. in consequence of the wills of Sir John Leman, Sir Jobn Gayer, &c.

The twenty-two alms people who inhabit this part of the fabric, have each two rooms, and an allowance of 3s. per

week,

week, 15s. at Christmas, a chaldron of coals, and a gown yearly; and one of the pensioners, who reads prayers in the chapel, has an additional annual allowance.

Twenty poor men and women, are accommodated in Mr. Hulbert's almshouses with two neat rooms, an allowance of 3s. per week, a chaldron of coals, 10s. at Christmas, and a gown every year.

NEWINGTON Butts, extends from the end of Southwark to Kennington Common, and is said to have received the name of Butts from the exercise of shooting at butts, antiently much practised here, and in other towns of England, to fit men to serve as archers.

Though this place is not mentioned in the Domesday Book, a church at Walworth is mentioned; and it is not improbable, but that upon the removal of that church 10 another situation, the houses by which it was soon surrounded took the name of Newton, and by corruption Newington.

The only manor in the parish is that of Walworth, called in the above record, WALEORDE, wbich at that period was held by Bainardus, of the archbishop of Canterbury, and appropriated to the support of the monks of Canterbury, to whom it had been given by Nithardus, jester to king Edmund, who had bestowed it on him; but in the reign of St. Edward, having determined to make a pilgrimage to Rome, he had obtained a licence from that monarch to vest it in the monks. It was then worth 31. and in 1291 was taxed at 101. It now belongs to the dean and chapter of Canterbury

It is not improbable but that this was the birth place of the famous Sir William Walworth, lord mayor of London.

The church of St. Mary, Newington, was rebuilt, on a larger scale, but on the same inconvenient spot, by the side of a great road, in 1793. It has in its church-yard a remarkable tomb raised over the body of WillIAM ALLEN, a young man killed by the firing of the soldiers at the time that John Wilkes was in the King's Bench prison. There are several singular inscriptions round the tomb.

The

The parsonage is an antient building of great curiosity, and is surrounded by a moat, over which there are four bridges.

RECTORS OF EMINENCE. NICHOLAS LLOYD, compiler of a Dictionary. Dr. SAMUEL HORSLEY, afterwards bishop of St. David's, of Rochester, and of St. Asaph; a learned prelate, and a firm defender of the doctrines of the church of England.

Passing through the hamlet of Walworth, the road lined by elegant mansions, we arrive at CAMBERWELL, in Surrey, two miles from London, an extensive parish, including Peckham and Dulwich. Its village reaches through a considerable extent; and the parish contains the manors of Camberwell Buckingham's, Milkwell, Camberwell Frerne, Dowdale's, Camberwell, Colde Abbey, and Deptfor: Strond; part of the latter being in this parish.

The church, dedicated to St. Giles, appears to have been erected in the reign of Henry VIII.; the date 1520, appearing in the east window of the north aisle. Some of the monuments are curious, particularly those of the Mus. champs, who came to England with William the Conqueror, and resided at Peckham; of the antient family of Scott, one of whom was appointed a baron of the Exchequer in 1532, and whose descendant married archbishop Cranmer's widow. On the ground are the following lines on one of this family:

Here might be praises, but he needs not them;
Such puffs the virtuous and the dead contemn,
For such are better pleased good to be,
Than to be called so: and such was he.
This then for ostentation raise we not,
Nor out of fear his worth should be forgot;
But that the readers and the passers-by,
Reflecting on the shrine of death an eye,
May mind their own--so neither will the cost

Seem vain, nor the beholder's labour lost. In the year 1786, this church, on account of being too small for the accommodation of a large congregation, un

derwent

[ocr errors]
[graphic]
« НазадПродовжити »