« НазадПродовжити »
St. John, ancestor of lord Bolingbroke, whose father sold them to the father of the present earl Spencer, now lord of the manor of Patricksea. Henry St. John viscount Bolingbroke, died here in 1751. The family seat was a venerable structure, which contained forty rooms on a floor; the greatest part of the house was pulled down in 1778. On the site of the demolished part, are erected an hori. zontal air mill, and malt distillery. The part left standing forms a dwelling house ; one of the parlours, fronting the Thames, is lined with cedar, beautifully inlaid, and was the favourite study of Pope, the scene of many a literary conversation between him and his friend Bolingbroke. The mill, now used for grinding malt for the distillery, was built for the grinding of linseed. The design was taken from that of another, on a smaller scale, constructed at Margate. Its height, from the foundation, is one hundred and forty feet; the diameter of the conical part fifty-four feet at the base, and forty-five at the top. The outer part Consists of ninety-six shutters, eighty feet high, and nine inches broad, which, by the pulling of a rope, open and shut in the manner of Venetian blinds. In the inside, the main shaft of the mill is the centre of a large circle formed by the sails, which consist of ninety-six double planks, placed perpendicularly, and of the same height as the planks that form the shutters. The wind rushing through the openings of these shutters, acts with great power upon the sails, and, when it blows fresh, turns the mill with prodigious rapidity; but this may be moderated, in an instant, by lessening the apertures between the shutters; which is effected, like the entire stopping of the mill, as before observed, by the pulling of a rope. In this mill are six pair of stones, to which two pair more may be added. On the site of the garden and terrace, have been erected extensive bullock houses, capable of holding six hundred and fifty bullocks, fed with the grains from the distillery, mixed with meal.
In the east end of the church (which was very neatly re. built a few years ago) is a window, in which are three por. VOL.V. No. 118.
traits; the first that of Margaret Beauchamp, ancestor (by her first husband, Sir Oliver St. John) of the St. Johns, and (by her second husband, John Beaufort, duke of Somerset) grandmother to Henry VII.; the second, the portrait of that monarch; and the third, that of queen Elizabeth, which is placed bere, because her grandfather, Thomas Boleyn, earl of Wiltshire (father of queen Anne Boleyn) was great grandfather of Anne, the daughter of Sir Thomas Leighton, and wife of Sir John St. John, the first baronet of the family In this church is a monument, by Roubiliac, to the memory of viscount Bolingbroke, and his second wife, a niece of Madame de Maintenon. A panegyrical epitaph mentions his " zeal to maintain the liberty, and restore the ancient prosperity of Great Britain."
Another monument, to the memory of Sir Edward Winter, an East India captain in the reign of Charles II. relates, that being attacked in the woods by a tyger, he placed himself on the side of a pond, and, when the tyger flew at him, he caught bim in his arms, fell back with him into the water, got upon him, and kept him down till he had drowned him. This adventure, as well as another won . derful exploit, is vouched for by the following lines:
Alone, unarm’d, a tyger he oppress’d,
Disperst the rest: What more could Sampson do? A third monument, of exquisite workmanship, executed by Messrs. Coade, has much attracted and gratified the curiosity of numbers. The design is marked with peculiar taste and simplicity, like the church itself, and represents a vestal, about four feet six inches high, the right arm em. bracing an urn ornamented with the heads of cherubs, and leaning on a triangular pedestal, the left hand gently touching the same, and exhibiting fingers of singular beauty.
The figure and pedestal are placed upon a semicircular bracket, with an oval space for a medallion left vacant, and
suspended by a ribbon. On the plinth are the arms and crest, engraved on metal, richly gilt, and let into the stone, which bears the following inscription:
To the memory of John CAMDEN, Esq. who died the 17th of October, 1780, aged LVII. and of his eldest daughter ElizaBETH, wife of JAMES Neild, of St. James's Street, London; who, imitating her father's virtues, and amiable in her own in nocence and beauty, died the xxxth of June, 1791, in het
Tho' low in earth, her beauteous frame decay'd,
Conjux mærens posuit.
Battersea Bridge was built by act of parliament, and divided into shares of 100l. each, during the present reign.
About six miles south-east of Battersea, is a hamlet belonging to it called PENGE, which pays tithes, and all parliamentary and parochial taxes to Battersea, except poor's rates, maintaining their own. The inhabitants of Battersea claim common of pasture on Penge Common, with the right of cutting furze and brushwood.
The road from Battersea to Clapham, and Lambeth, is spacious, and in good repair; hence to Westminster, Blackfriars, and London Bridges, concludes the route through the county of Surrey.