« НазадПродовжити »
archbishop WAKE, and archbishop Herring. There is also among other memorials an antient Gothic tomb, supposed to be to the memory of one of the Wareham family; these had labels, in brass, which, as well other ornaments, were torn away during the Civil Wars, when one Bleese was hired, at 28. 6d. per day, to break the painted glass in the windows.
In Croydon church was buried Barclay, the poet, author of The Ship of Fools, &c. A capital organ has, within a few years, been placed in the gallery. Besides the parish church, here was a chantry. At present various bodies of Dissenters have their meeting houses. The Fishmongers Company of London, founded a Free School in this town; and lately were erected barracks for the accommodation of five troops of cavalry.
In the neighbourhood is ADDISCOMBE Place, a handsome seat, the residence of the earl of Liverpool. His lordship has not only beautified the house, but greatly improved the plantations. On the east front of the house is this inscription in Roman capitals: “ Non faciam vitio culpave minorem-I will not reduce the estate by any vice or folly of mine."
Haling House and park, were the property of Charles Howard, lord high admiral in the reign of Elizabeth, who held it by a lease from the crown, and died here in 1624. The fine grove in the park contains a great number of exotics and evergreens; a circumstance which is thus celebrated by the late William Whitehead, in a poem, entitled, “ Answer to an Epistle from a Grove in Derbyshire to a Grove in Surrey.” It belongs at present to William Parker Hamond, Esq.
In the parish is the mansion of Mrs. Elizabeth Panton, and the villas belonging to Christopher Taddy, Esq. and lady Blunt; John Brickwood, Esq. the Hon. Mrs. Walpole, Joseph Leeds, Esq. Sir John Bridger, and Thomas Walker, Esq. About a mile from the town, in the road to Addington, is a Jarge chalk pit, producing extraneous fossils, VOL. V. No. 114,
ADDINGTON, is a village, three miles to the east of Croydon, at the foot of a range of hills, to which it gives the name of Addington Common. On the brow of the hill, toward the village, is a cluster of small tumuli, about twenty-five in number, and in them have been found Roman urns, &c. In this parish is Addington Place, a handsome seat, lately the property of James Trecothick, Esg. It is held by a tenure of making his majesty a mess of pottage at his coronation. The origin of this tenure is from Tezelin, the Conqueror's cook, holding a carucate in Addington, by the service of cooking up in an earthen platter, a mess denominated Maupugernon *, in the king's kitchen, at the time of his coronation. . The present archbishop of Canterbury, Dr. Sutton, in 1807, bought Addington Place, with the money which res sulted from the sale of the archiepiscopal palace, at Croydon, by archbishop Cornwallis, with the addition of some delapidations in the time of archbishop Secker, which have been vested the funds for that purpose.
It appears that the Knights Templars had a manor in this parish, which, on their disgrace, was transferred to the knights of St. John of Jerusalem. This, with another manor belonging to St. Mary Overy, at the dissolution of monasteries, passed to the family of Leigh, and ultimately to that of Trecothick.
The Church, dedicated to St. Mary, is a very small structure, partly rebuilt about the reign of Edward III. It contains several memorials of the families of Leigh, Hatteclyffe, and Cole; besides a large marble urn, and an inscribed tablet to the memory of Barlow Trecothick, Esq. alderman, and lord mayor of London in 1770, and one of the members of parliament for that city; he died in 1775.
* It is supposed by Mr. Lysons, that the dish abovementioned might be the same as that called a Bardolf, more especially as the family of Bardolf were lords of this place; it was called a pottage, and consisted of almond milk, the brawn of capons, sugar and spices, chicken parboiled and chopped, &c. See p. 466, of Household Establishments, 4to. published by the Society of Antiquaries.