Зображення сторінки

A wood for five hogs. In the time of king Edward it was valued at ten pounds; afterwards at six pounds, now nine pounds and ten shillings. The dwelling houses which earl Roger beld have been taken away from this manor; in London thirteen; in Sudwercke eight; they yielded twelve shillings."

The first of these manors was named HOME BEDDINGTon, and came with BEDDINGTON HUSCARL, by marriage, into the family of De Carru, or Carew, in the person of Sir Nicholas Carew, keeper of the privy seal, and one of the executors to the will of Edward III. It was forfeited, in 1539, on the attainder and execution of another Sir Nicholas Carew, for a conspiracy. His son, Sir Francis, having procured the reversal of the attainder, purchased this estate of lord Darcy, to whom it had been granted by Edward VI. He rebuilt the mansion house, and planted the gardens with choice fruit trees, in the cultivation of which he took great delight*. The park is still famous for


* Sir Francis spared no expence in procuring them from foreign countries. The first orange trees seen in England are said to have been planted by him. Aubrey says, they were brought from Italy by Sit Francis Carew. But the editors of the Biographia, speaking from a tradition preserved in the family, tell us, they were raised by Sir Francis Carew from the seeds of the first oranges which were imported into Eng. land by Sir Walter Raleigh, who had married his niece, the daughter of Sir Nicholas Throckmorton. The trees were planted in the open ground, and were preserved in the winter by a moveable shed. They flourished for about a century and a half, being destroyed by the hard frost in 1739–40. In the garden was a pleasure house, on the top of which was painted the Spanish lovasion. In August 1599, queen Elizabeth paid a visit to Sir Francis Carew, at Beddington, for three days, and again in the same month, the ensuing year. The queen's oak, and her favourite walk, are still pointed out. Sir Hugh Platt tells an anecdote, in his Garden of Eden, relating to one of these visits, which shews the pains Sir Francis took in the management and cultivation of his fruit trees : Here I will conclude,” says he," with a conceit of that delicate knight, Sir Francis Carew, who, for the better accomplishment of his royal entertainment of our late queen Elizabeth, of happy memory, at his house at Beddington, led her majesty to a cherry-tree, whose fruit he Vol. V. No. 114.


[ocr errors]

walnut trees. The manor house, situated near the chuirting is built of brick, and occupies three sides of a square. It was rebuilt in its present form in 1709. The great door of the hall has a curious antient lock, richly wrought: a shield with the arms of England, moving in a groove, conceals the hey-hole. In this hall is the portrait of a lady, falsely shewn as queen Elizabeth: a small room adjoining to the hall retains the antient pannels with mantled carvings; over the chimney is a small portrait of one of the Carews, surrounded by a pedigree. Another room has several portraits of the Hacket family, particularly one of bishop Hacket, by Sir P. Lely. In the parlour at the north end of the hall are some other family portraits, among which is one of Sir Nicholas Carew, beheaded in the reign of Henry VIII.

BEDDINGTON, descended by the will of Sir Nicholas. Hacket Carew, to Richard Gee, Esq: of Orpington, in Kent, and that gentleman, in 1780, took the name and arms of Carew.

Beddington church belonged to the abbey of Bermondsey, to which it was given in 1159, and is dedicated to St. Mary. This structure is supposed to have been built about the reign of Richard II. and is a very beautiful spe. cimen of the architecture of that age. In the aisles are several antient wooden stalls, and the pulpit has some mantled carving. Here are many fine memorials of the family of Carew. Among others is a tablet in a wooden frame against the wall of the north aisle, with the following quibbling epitaph : had of purpose kept back from ripening, at the least one month after all other cherries had taken their farewell of England. This secret he per-formed, by straining a tent, or cover of canvass, over the whole tree, and wetting the same now and then with a scoop or horn, as the heat of the weather required; and so, by withholding the sun beams from reflecting upon the berries, they grew both great, and were very long before they had gotten their perfect cherry colour; and, when he was assured of her majesty's coming, he removed the tent, and a few sunny days brought them to their full maturity."-Lysons's Environs of London, Vol. I. Page 56.

* Mors

[graphic][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed]
[ocr errors]

" Mors super virides montes." 6 THOMAS GREEN HILL, borne and bredd in the famous uni. versity of Oxford, Batchelor of Artes, and sometymes student in Magdalen Coll. steward to the most noble knight Sir Nicholas Carew of Bedington, who deceased

Sept. 17 day anno 1634. William Greenhill, master of artes, his brother, and Mary his sister, erected this :

Under thy feete interr'd is heare,
A native borne in Oxfordsheere;
First life and learning Oxford gave,
Surry to him his death and grave;
He once a IIill, was fresh and greene,
Now wither'd, is not to be seene;
Earth in earth shovell’d up is shut,
A Hill into a hole is put.
But darksome earth, by power divine,
Bright at last as the sonne may shine.”

W. G. WALLINGTON, is a hamlet to Beddington, situate on the banks of the Wandle. It is more populous than the village to which it is a hamlet. Here is a considerable callico printing manufactory. In a field, near the road, is an antient chapel, built of Aint and stone, now used as a cart house and stable. Its origin cannot be traced. The present proprietor would have pulled it down, but was opposed in his intention by the parishioners. It seems to be of considerable antiquity.

Woodcote, in the parish of Beddington, at present only a single farm housc, is supposed to have been a Roman station, from many remains of antiquity found here. Camden, and other antiquaries, contend, that this was the Noviomagus, mentioned by Ptolemy; which others maintain to bare been in Kent*.

* Those who wish to see the argument treated at length, may consult Aubrey's Surrey, Vol. II. p. 151, 159. Camden, Gale, Burton, Talbot, and other commentators on the Itinerary of Antoninus ; and Somner's Canterbury.



« НазадПродовжити »