Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub
[graphic]

to have ended his days full of honour and of glory, formerly belonged to Thomas Sainsbury, Esq. lord mayor of London, and was lately put up for sale. It is a mansion replete with conveniences, and beautifully situated. There are other handsome villas.

To the south of Merton, about ten miles from London, is MORDON: at the Conquest, according to Domesday Book, “ the abbey of Westminster held Mordone in Waleton hundred. In the time of king Edward it was rated at twelve hides, then at three hides. In demesne there were three carrucates and eight villans; and five cottages with four carrucates. There was one servant, and a mill of sixty shillings. In the time of king Edward it was valued at six pounds, then at ten pounds, and yielded fifteen pounds."

There is no antient account of this lordship, previously to the dissolution of Westminster Abbey, when it came into the families of Ducket and Whitchurch, the latter of whom alienated it to Richard Garth, Esq. whose family held it till within these few years.

A manuscript memorandum informs us that the large house near the church was built by Mr. Ewart, of Thames Street; it afterwards belonged to captain Conway, in the East India service, who made the greatest part of the present improvements; since which it has undergone the fate of many a nobler mansion, preys to luxury and dissipation. It was purchased by auction by Edward Polbill, Esq. who has been more prudent in his choice, and he has happily embellished by art, wh t was beautifully formed by nature. The house is of a square form, built with brick and stone, upog a fine rising ground, with a southern aspect. The extensive pleasure grounds are agreeably diversified; two fine sheets of water, an elegant temple, tea room, &c. render MORDON PARK, an elegant domain.

In Mordon is the elegant mansion of ABRAHAM GOLDSMID, Esq. The structure is formed upon a lively and beautiful model; the furniture is in the higi est degree magnificent, and part of the roof is supported by twelve porVOL. V. No, 114.

Рp

pbyry

phyry pillars. The plantations are composed of rich shruba beries, and scarce exotics; and the whole exhibits luxue riance and convenience.

The parish Church, dedicated to St. Lawrence, is : picturesque object, built chiefly of brick; it has regular pointed windows, which belonged probably to the former fabric. In the east window are the Ten Commandments, with the figures of Moses and Aaron, &c. in stained glass. The present church was built in 1636, and contains various memorials of the Garth family.

The neighbouring village of Cheam is situated between Sutton and Ewell. It was antiently called CHEYHAM, and the manor was granted by king Atheistan, in 1018, to the monks of Canterbury; and the king concluded his with the following anathema, against such as should infringe it: Ercommunicatus cum diabolo societur;" which is in substance, “May he go to the Devil.” Archbishop Lanfranc, afterwards held it for the monks, and divided the manor into East and West Cheam. Howerer Henry VIII. who feared neither excommunication nor the devil, took upon him to urge archbishop Cranmer to alienate East Cheam, for Chislet Park, in Kent; and it remained in the crown till queen Mary I. granted it to Anthony lord Montague, of whom it was purchased by Henry earl of Arundel, from whom it passed to John lord Lumley, who married the earl's daughter and co-beiress. His lordship dying without issue, this manor was inherited by the descendants of bis sister Barbara, who had married Humphrey Llwyd, Esq. the famous antient British antiquary. East Cheam was devised by the will of the reverend Robert Lumley Lloyd, who died in 1729, to John duke of Bedford, who sold it to Mr. Northey, and it is the property of his son.

The manor house of East Cheam, the seat of Philip Antrobus, Esq. is an antient structure, and is worthy of attention; the ball remains in its original form, about the time of archbishop Cranmer; the upper part is surrounded by an open wooden gallery : adjoining the hall are the buttery and cellar, with antient doors ; the

parlour

« НазадПродовжити »