« НазадПродовжити »
The CHURCH, dedicated to St. Nicholas, is a rectory in the deanery of Southwark. There was a church here at the Conquest, as appears by Domesday Book. The church of Totinges was given to the monastery of St. Mary Overree, and so recorded in Dugdale's Monasticon. It is a small structure, having on the north side a low circular tower, with a small spire. Among the monuments are some to the memory of lady Bateman, 1709. Sir John Hepdon, envoy to Russia, 1670. Samuel Plumbe, Esq. alderman and mayor of London, died in 1784. Dr. Lisle, bishop of Norwich, in 1748, was instituted to this rectory in 1720.
The lords North and Grey had formerly a seat in this parish.
The road to the south leads to Mitcham. This parisha is situated about nine miles from London, and is supposed to contain between two and three thousand acres; the chief produce of which is peppermint, lavender, physical herbs, and corn.
A beautiful stream called the Wandle, remarkable for the pureness and transparency of its water, passes through it; upon which are mills for grinding corn, tobacco, logwood, &c.; and on the banks are some very convenient and pleasant grounds, for the purpose of bleaching and printing calliço, which are supplied with water by the same river. Upon one of these premises is a simple and obvious invention, an engine in case of fire, the pumps worked by the same wheel used in the business.
On the entrance into Mitcham from Sutton is a villa, called Mitcham Grove, in the possession of Henry Hoare, Esq. It was formerly the residence of lord Loughborough. The river Wandle, which is an excellent trout stream, forms a canal through the gardens.
The Church is an antient building ; but the inside is handsome and commodious: it consists of a centre and two side aisles, with a gallery at the west end, and a chancel at the east. The date of its erection is not easily ascertained; but it appears by a memorandum on a pane of glass taken from one of the windows in the archbishop's palace, at
Croydon, in the hand-writing of archbishop Laud, that the churches of Mitcham, Cheme, and of several other parishes, were injured by lightning on the 1.4th of Janurry, 1638-9. On the front of the porch is the date 1647: this was probably a repair in consequence of the above mentioned accident. A similar one happened a few years since, when the lightning entered the church by making a fissure in the south wall of the chancel, but dispersed without doing further damage. There are a few handsome monuments, of which the following are the principal: Nere this lyeth ye Body of Theopilvs Brereton Esq; descended
from Sr Randall Brereton of Malpas in Cheshire who had • Issue by his Wife Mary Daughter of Thomas Rowland de.
ceased cliven Children vidzt five Sonnes and Six Davghters & ye said Theophilvs departed this life ye fifth day of December Anno Domi: 1638 Aged 64 Yeares
Near this place are deposited the Remains of
Sir Ambrose Crowley, Knight
Citizen, and Alderman of London, Whose numerous Family, and great Estate were the present re
wards of an indefatigable Industry, and application to Busi. ness, and unblemished Probity; and a sincere belief, and prac. tice of true Christianity, and particularly a boundless liberality towards the poor, many hundreds of whom he continually
employed. Near him lies the Body of Dame Mary his Wife, the Daughter of
Charles Owen, Esqr. a younger Son of the Family of Condor;
His Lady in the 63d Year of her Age, 1721 The font is ornamented with Gothic tracery, and resembles that at Mortlake, which was erected about the reign of Henry VI.