« НазадПродовжити »
tagonal tower at each corner, terminating pyramidically above the roof. In a window of the hall are the arms of Sir Henry Heydon, with those of Anne, his wife, daughter to Sir Geoffrey Boleyn, &c. The CHURCH is dedicated to St. John Baptist: it is ornamented with painted glass ; on which are represented figures of saints, and a skeleton intended for the founder, in a kneeling posture, with a label, inscribed thus: Ne reminiscaris Domine delicta mea aut par . . . issuing from its mouth. Several of the Lennard family are also buried here. Gilbert West, Esq. the learned author of “ Thoughts on the Resurrection," " Translations of Pindar," the “Institution of the Garter," &c. was interred in this church, in April 1755. He resided in the village many years, and was here, says his biographer, Dr. Johnson, “very often visited by Lyttelton and Pitt, who, when they were weary of faction and debates, used to find at Wickham, books and quiet, a decent table, and literary conversation." *
Hayes, is a small but pleasant village; the CHURCH of which is dedicated to St. Mary, and contains the banners borne at the public funeral of the great earl of Chatham. Among the sepulchral memorials are several brasses in commemoration of different rectors,
* Mr. West placed the following inscription in the summer-house of his garden.
Hæc mihi nec procul urbe sita est prorsus ad urbem,
Ausonius ad Villam.
my rural cot;
Nor for the good and friendly too remote.
Or the gay city's idle pleasures cloy;
Hayes Place, formerly a seat of the Scotts, is stated to have been purchased by the late earl of Chatham, who erected the present mansion. “ Here, after his retirement from public affairs, this great statesman spent much of the evening of bis days, amusing himself with improving, from time to time, his favourite residence. It is now the property of Philip Dehaney, Esq. formerly of Kempshot, in Hampshire.
Here was born on the 28th of May, 1759, his son, the immortal WILLIAM Pitt.
The neighbourhood of Hayes, Beckenham, and Bromley, is thickly studded with the villas of nobility and gentry.
In the parish of BECKENHAM, is LANGLEY PARK, and Kelseys, two estates belonging to the right honourable lord Gwydir, deputy great chamberlain, and F. R.S. The former, which is the most considerable, obtained its name from the family of Langley, who had lands here about the middle of the fourteenth century. It passed to the family of Raymond, by purchase, whence it came by an heiress, to Peter Burrell, Esq. His grandson, the present owner, was created a peer in June, 1796. The more antient seat of the Burrells, is Kelseys, purchased from the family of Brograve, who had possessed it for nearly three centuries, and one of whom had license for an oratory here in 1479. Lord Gwydir's house, now connected with Langley Park, was originally built by alderman Kirkham, of London.
Eden Farm, another seat in Beckenham, is the retirement of the right honourable William Eden lord Auckland, who purchased it of J. A. Rucker, Esq. Clay Hill, was the property of the late learned Edward King, Esq. F. R. and A.S. This gentleman was a native of Norfolk, and author of “ Observations on Ancient Castles;" “ Morsels of Criticism,” tending to illustrate the Scriptures; and the “ Munimenta Antiqua.” He died in 1806, aged seventy-two.
BeckenHAM PLACE, was formerly the residence of rearadmiral Sir Piercy Brett, who died in 1781, and, together with his lady, lies buried in the church; but the estate, M m 2
which for upwards of a century had been owned by the family of St. John, was alienated to that of Cators, in 1773, under the authority of an act of parliament. Kent House, now occupied as a farm, was the antient seat of the Lethieulliers; the estate belongs to J. J. Angerstein, Esq.
The Church of Beckenham, dedicated to St. George, is a neat edifice, and contains many monuments of the Style, Raymond, Burrell, and other families. On a slab in the chancel, is a remarkable brass, in memory of “ Dame Margaret, wyf of Syr Willim Dasell, knyght,” and daughter of John Barnes, Esq. of Redhall, in Norfolk, who died in November, 1563: she is represented in a flowered petticoat, and close-bodied gown; the sleeves slashed at the shoulders, and hanging down to the feet.
The following elegant lines were written by Gray, and inscribed on the monument of Mrs. JANE CLARKE, wife of Dr. Clarke, physician at Epsom.
66 Lo! where this silent marble wecps,
* The Register of Beckenham, under the date October 24, 1740, records the burial of Margaret Finch.
“ This remarkable person lived to the age of one hundred and nine years. She was one of the people called Gipsies, and had the title of
BROMLEY is a pleasant, healthy, and respectable market town: the manor was given to the bishops of Rochester by Ethelbert, king of Kent, and is at present in their possession. The old episcopal palace stood here at a very early period: the late bishop Thomas, erected the present edifice, a plain brick mansion, in its stead, about the year 1777. It is the only episcopal residence belonging to the see of Rochester. It stands about a quarter of a mile from the town, and is pleasantly situated on the brow of a bill, looking towards Beckenham and Hayes. In the grounds is a chalybeate spring, called St. Blase's Well, to which was antiently an oratory, dedicated to St. Blasius, formerly much frequented at Whitsuntide; because Lucas, who was legate for pope Sextus IV. granted an indulgence of forty days, enjoining penance to all those who should visit this chapel, and offer up their orizons there in the three holidays of Pentecost. This oratory fell to ruins at the Reformation, and the well was stopped up; but being re-opened in 1754, was, by the bishop's orders, immediately secured from the mixture of other waters; since which, numbers of people, especially of the middle and poorer sort, have been remarkably relieved by it from varions infirmities and diseases.
Bromley Church, dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul, is a spacious building, and consists of a nave, chancel, and aisles, with an embattled tower surmounted by a cupola, at the west end: the north aisle was rebuilt in 1792; to
their Queen. After travelling over various parts of the kingdom, during the greater part of a century, she settled at Norwood; whitizer her great age, and the fame of her fortune-telling, attracted numerous visitors. From a habit of sitting on the ground, with her chin resting on her knees, the sinews at length became so contracted, that she could not rise from that posture: after her death, they were oblige to inclose her body in a deep square box. Her funeral was attended by two mourning coaches ; a sermon was preached upon the occasion, and a great concourse of people attended the ceremony. There is an engraved portrait of Margaret Finch from a drawing made in 1739; and her picture adorns the sign-post of a house of public entertainment in Norwood, called the Gipsey House." -Lysons's Environs, IV.301,
which bishop Thomas contributed 5001. The sepulchral memorials are numerous: here are said to have been bu. ried bishops WARDONE, HENCHE, YONGE, BUCKERIDGE, and PEARCE. Dr. John HAWKSWORTH, author of the Adventurer, &c. and who died in November 1773, aged fifty-eight, has also a monument here: he was long an inhabitant of Bromley. The font is of a square form, the sides ornamented with ranges of plain and semicircular arches.
Bromley COLLEGE was founded in pursuance of the will of the benevolent John Warner, bishop of Rochester, bearing date in 1666, for the residence and maintenance of twenty widows of loyal and orthodox clergymen. The original endowments have been greatly augmented by the gifts of various persons since that period; and in 1756, Mrs. Helen Betenson bequeathed the sum of 10,000l. for the purpose of erecting ten additional houses for as many widows of clergymen: a bequest of 12,0001. has been since added under certain limitations, by William Pearce, Esq. brother to bishop Pearce, for the building ten more houses for clergymens' widows; so that this excellent charity is now in a very fourishing state. The widows on bishop Warner's foundation have an annual allowance of 301. 10s. each, with coals and candles: the others have, 201. each. The salary of the chaplain, who must belong to Magdalen College, Oxford, is now about 861. yearly. This institution is under the management of fourteen trustees ; seven of them are, the archbishop of Canterbury, the bishop of London ; the bishop, the archdeacon, and the chancellor of Rochester; the dean of St. Paul's, and the Dean of the Arches for the time being; the others are elective: the college buildings are pleasantly situated at the north end of the town. In Bromley is also a CHARITY School for the clothing and education of thirteen boys, and the same number of girls.
The grant for holding the market was obtained by the bishop of Rochester from Henry the Sixth, in the year 1447 or 1448.