Зображення сторінки
PDF
ePub

booters, though at the same time the archbishop was chilled for want of firing, during the month of January, in the Tower. As a prison it was the confinement of the brave earl of Derby, and the earl of Chesterfield ; of Sir Thomas Armstrong, afterwards executed for being concerned in the duke of Monmouth's rebellion; of Dr. Allestry *; and of Richard Lovelace, the poet, of whom we have made mention under the parish of St. Bridget.

The

* Walker, in his “Sufferings of the Clergy,” thus makes mention of Dr. Allestry: “ He was descended from an antient family in Derbyshire, but born at Uppington, in Shrophire, in the year 1619. In 1636, he became a commoner of Christ's College, Oxford, and about six months after was, by Dr. Samuel Fell, then dean, made student of it. Upon the breaking out of the rebellion he took up arins for his majesty, was at the battle of Edgehill, and in his return to Oxford from thence, was taken prisoner by a party from Broughton House, then garrisoned by the parliament; but soon after falling into his majesty's hands, Mr. Allestry thereupon obtained his liberty, and repairing to Oxford, bore a musquet for some time in the regiment of Scholars; which being upon several services, he was in all of them forward to put himself into action. But some time before this, when a party under the command of the lord Say were plundering this university, and had rifled the dean's lodgings at this house, locking up their plunder in a certain room of it, Mr. Allestry having a key to that room, got it all conveyed away before the next morning; whereupon he was seized, and would have been severely handled, but that the earl of Essex called away those forces on a sudden, and so redeemed him from their fury. When the visitation came on in 1648, his sufferings were renewed, and he was expelled about the middle of July that year; at which time having the care of several persons of quality, his pupils, and accounts of his own and theirs to make up, he with difficulty obtained from the governor of the town (lieutenant-colonel Kelsey) a little respite for the settling his affairs, and doing justice to those for whom he was concerned; the visitors utterly refusing his request for this reason, as Dr. Rogers, one of their number, was pleased to word it,' because he was an eminent man.' After this he became chaplain to Francis Newport, Esq. (afterwards lord Newport) in Shropshire, and not long after the inisfortune of his majesty kiug Charles II. at Worcester, was sent to attend that prince at Roan, in Normandy, on some affairs of moment, and received his dispatches to the managers of affairs in England. Soon after coming to Oxford, for some time he joined himself to his two friends Mr. (afterwards archbishop) Dolben, and Mr. (afterwards bishop) Fell, who, as is before said, kept up theorders of the church of England there in a private house: from thence

he

The last outrage which this palace suffered, was in the year 1780, when a factious rabble, in their infatuated zeal against popery, were possessed with the idea that archbishop Cornwallis, on account of being appointed one of the commissioners for giving the royal assent to the Quebec bill, was a favourer of the Roman Catholics. On the 6th of June, they arrived from their grand rendezvous in St. George's Fields, and exclaiming “ No Popery," attacked the gates, which, however, on previous notice of their in. tention, had been secured. The archbishop and his family had been prevailed upon to leave Lambeth, and, by a cir, cuitous way through Battersea, retire to the earl of Hils. borough, in Hanover Square, whence they went to Wimbledon, where being still apprehensive of their safety, they removed to his lordship's seat in Kent, where they remained till the riot had subsided. In the mean time, upon appli. cation at the War Office, a detachment of soldiers was dispatched, to guard the place, and centinels appointed to do duty on the tower, and in the avenues. A party of the Hampshire militia arrived on the seventh, and on the eighth day, the whole of the Northampton militia were quartered here, in strict garrison duty, where they continued till the 11th of August. The officers were entertained by the arch

he retired to the house of Sir Anthony Cope, at Hanwell, where being at liberty to go and come as he pleased, he had several opportunities of conveying messages to his majesty from his friends in England; and managed that affair with great courage and dexterity. But at last he was seized at Dover, in his return from his majesty in 1659, and continued prisoner at Lambeth House about six or eight weeks, where by ill usage he contracted a sickness, which was like to have cost him his life. For these good services in the following year he was made canon of Christchurch; and about that time also one of his majesty's chaplains. In 1663 he became regius professor of divinity in this university. In 1665, was made provost of Eaton, and died in Jan. 1689. He was a most affectionate preacher, and richly furnished with all variety of choice solid learning, requisite to recommend him with the greatest advantage to the more intelligent worlů, for one of the most eminent divines of our age. His epitaph adds, Episcopales Infulas eadem industriâ Evilavit, quâ alii ambiunt; cui rectius risum Ecclesiam Defendere, Instruere, Ornare, quam Regere, He erected a grammar school at the expence of 15001.” VOL. V. No. 102..

с

bishop's

bishop's chaplains, Drs. Lort and Vyse, who remained here the whole time: the soldiers had their meals in the great hall, at the archbishop's expence.

Lambeth Palace has been also the refuge for learned and persecuted divines. The reformers Martyr and Bucer, were entertained by archbishop Cranmer; the learned archbishop of Spalato, found a refuge with archbishop Abbot; and under archbishop Parker, were comfortable receptions for the deprived bishops Tunstal and Thirleby, as before mentioned.

Adjoining to the palace is the parish church of

1

SE. MARY, LAMBETH. THIS fabric is of very antient foundation, having been rebuilt between the years 1374 and 1377, the tower of which still remains. The present body is supposed to have been erected about the reign of Henry VIII. The floor paved with stone, the roof covered with lead; the bases of the pillars octagonal, the arches, and most of the windows, modern Gothic; the floor of the chancel is two steps higher than that of the church, and there are three aisles; the east end of the north is called Howard's Chapel (some of the duke of Norfolk's family being buried there) and that of the south Leigh’s Chapel, Sir John Leigh, son of Ralph Leigh, Esq. lord of the manor of Stockwell, and his lady, having been buried there.

The interior of the church is handsomely ornamented, and has a fine organ, In one of the windows is the figure of the Pedlar and his dog, supposed a rebus, upon the name of WALKER, of which we have made mention under Pedlar's Acre, in the close of the fourth Volume.

The dimensions of the church and chancel, length one hundred and eleven feet, breadth fifty-three, altitude about thirty-eight, and that of the tower, in which are eight bells, eighty-seven feet to the highest part of the tower : among the benefactors are Mr. Walker, the supposed pedlar; and Mrs. Tredescant, for leave to erect a tomb, 501,

ANTIENT

ANTIENT MONUMENTS. · A small monument, with this inscription:

In memory of Anthony Burleigh, third Son of John Bur. leigh, of the Isle of Wight, Esq. who was Lieutenant General to ing Charles the 1st, of blessed Memory; and was put to Death at Winchester, the 26th of January, for endeavouring to release his Sacred Majesty, then prisoner in Carisbrook Castle, in the said Isle of Wight. His two elder Brothers were slain in Worcester Fight, in the Forces of his present Majesty King Charles the 2d. This being the last of that loyal Family, except his truly loving and sorrowful Sistre, who caused this Monument to be erected.

Ob. 17 Feb. 1681. Ætat. suæ 48. Spe Resurgendi.
A monument to the noble family of GRANVILLE,
A white marble monument, thus inscribed :

Near the middle of this Chapel lyeth the Body of Sir Peter Rich, Knight, late Alderman of the City of London: He died, the 26th of August 1692, in the 62d year of his Age. Near his Grave 12 of his Children, who died before him, lye buried

In Howard's chapel, a small white marble monument, with the following quaint epitaph :

In the Vault, under this Stone, is the Remains of Richard Marsh, Esq; who supp'd (before he went to Bed) with Christ. He had Issue 15 Children by Martha his Wife and Relict; eight are buried in the middle Ile against the Pulpit, one lyes in this Vault which he built for his Family. He was exceeding glad at the beautifying of this House: and tho not quite finished, was begun in his time. Being full of Hope, he departed this Life, the 18th of May 1704, Aged 61 Years.

On a flat stone on the north side of the chancel, the figure of a man in armour in brass, to the memory of THOMAS CLERE, Esq. who died in 1545.

On another slab, the figure of a woman, on brass, habited in a robe, and ornamented with coats of arms. At her feet a squirrel, to lady Catharine Howard, wife of lord William Howard, deceased April 23, 1535.

This lady, with her husband, were indicted for concealing she misdem anours of her relation, queen Catharine Howard,

[ocr errors]

for which they were sentenced to perpetual imprisonment, though afterwards pardoned.

Formerly the helmet, gauntlet, and arms belonging to Sir Noel Carron, ambassador from the states of Holland, and eight distinct coats of arms, were placed in this church.

A rich Gothic tomb at the upper end of the chancel, with the following inscription on a brass plate:

Sub pedibus ubi statis, jacet corpus Magistri HUGONIS PEYNTwin legam doctoris, nuper Archi. Cant. reverendissimorum patruin Dnorum. Johannis Morton Cardinalis, Henrici Dene, et William Warham, Can. Archiepiscop. audien. causar. auditoris. Qui obiit 6 die Augusti, Anno Dom. 1504. Cujus anime propietur Deus. Amen.

Opposite is a monument nearly resembling the last, to the memory of John MomPesson, Esq. of Bathampton Wyley, in the county of Wilts, principal gentleman to archbishop Warham, who died on the 4th of May, 1524.

A black and white marble monument, adorned with effigies, enriched with artillery and trophy work, in basso relievo; inscribed:

Near this place lyeth interred the Body of Robert Scott, Esq. descended of the ancient Barons of Bawerie in Scotland. He bent himself to Travail and Study much, &c. and, among many other things, he invented the Leather Ordnance, and carried to the King of Sweden 200 Men, who after 2 years Service, for his Worth and Valour, was preferred to the Office of Quarter Master General of his Majesty's Army, which he possessed for 3 years; from thence, with his Favour, he went into Denmark, where he was advanced to be General of that King's Artillery. There being advised to tender his Service to his own Prince; which he doing, His Majesty willingly accepted, and preferred him to be one of the Gentlemen of his most Honourable Privy Chamber, and rewarded him with a pension of Gool. per annum.

This deserving Spirit, adorned with all Endowments befitting a Gentleman in the prime of his flourishing Age surrendered his Soul to his Redeemer, 1631.

of his great Worth to know, who seeketh more,

Must mount to Heaven, where he is gone before. In France he took to Wife Ann Scot, for whose Remembrance she lovingly erected this Memorial.

A small

« НазадПродовжити »