« НазадПродовжити »
turning the two Parliamentary Representatives, although the population of the three parishes which form the town and suburbs cannot be short of 5000, those of St. Mary alone being stated at 2712 in 1821. The houses are of respectable appearance, built with regularity, and faced with granite; and as it is nearly surrounded by water, the town is connected with the suburbs by small stone Bridges.
is an elegant building, of that style of architecture which prevailed iu this country in the reign of Henry VII. It consists of three aisles, one of which is smaller than the others; and has a tower, with a lofty but inelegant spire, at the west end. Some fragments of painted glass exist in the windows; the interior is deat, and contains several monuments. Beside this Church, here are no less than seven places of worship for Dissenters of various denominations. Here is also a Grammar School; a National School, on Dr. Bell’s plan; the County Infirmary, a handsome building, near the town, opened in 1799, and supported by subscription; the Town Hall, a substantial structure, in the Market-place; the Coinage Hall, a massive building; the Theatre and Assembly Rooms, a neat edifice, arranged with considerable taste; and
the County Library, established in 1792, and containing an extensive collection of books. A Literary Society was established here in 1792, whose Museum is rich in mineral treasures, and other objects of curiosity; and two weekly Newspapers are published here.
About a mile from the town, on the Falmouth road, is Calinnick Smelting-house, consisting of ten large furnaces, in which the operations are conducted on an extensive scale.
Samuel Foote was born at Truro about 1721, of a respectable family, and received his education at Oxford. He soon dissipated his fortune by fashionable excesses, and turned his attention to the stage. Like most youthful aspirants he chose tragedy for his debut, and first appeared as Othello, but the indifferent success he met with, soon induced him to devote his talents to their natural sphere, and in 1747 he opened the Haymarket Theatre with a dramatic piece in which he introduced imitations of several well-known characters, performing the principal parts himself. This kind of entertainment he repeated, under various pames, with great success, and about 1751 produced " Taste," the first of his regular farces, which was followed by numerous others, in which caustic wit, and the most pointed personality, established his claim to the title of the “ English Aristophanes." About 1760, he procured a licence for the Haymarket, and regularly performed there every season. In 1766 he lost a leg by an accident, but even this incident he turned to account, and ridiculed his own misfortunes with as little reserve as those of other people. In 1775 he wrote the " Trip to Calais," in which he introduced the celebrated Duchess of Kingston under the name of Lady Kitty Crocodile, and giving her notice of his intention of producing the piece, she entered into a negociation for its suppression; but Foote's demands were so exorbitant, that she determined not to yield, and he was at last compelled, by the Licenser, to expunge the character. Nor did her vengeance rest here; a charge of an infamous nature was brought against him shortly afterwards by a discarded servant, supposed to be instigated by the enraged Duchess; and although Foote was fully acquitted, apon trial, it weighed so heavily on his mind, that his health visi· bly declined, and he died at Dover, on his way to France, in October, 1777.
Tregothnan House, the seat of the Earl of Falmouth, is about two miles from Truro, and is one of the finest mansions in the county. It is situated on a gentle eminence, embosomed in wood, and commands extensive and richly diversified prospects. The house is of modern erection, but is built in the style of domestic architecture prevalent in the early part of the sixteenth century, and is very elegantly finished. The Park is extensive, and is bounded by the river for a considerable distance.
WADEBRIDGE, an inconsiderable village near Padstow, is only noticeable for a Bridge of 17 Gothic arches, and 320 feet in length, built in 1485 by a public-spirited clergyman, named Lovebond, then Vicar of Eglosheyl; before this time the passage of the river was by a dangerous ford, or ferry, in which lives were frequently lost. Not far from hence is the beautiful village of Little Petherick; and after crossing the Bridge is Eglosheyl, with an ancient Church, and a curiously-carved stone pulpit.
END OF THE DESCRIPTION OF CORNWALL.
ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS.
During the progress of this Volume through the press, some alterations have taken place, by the erection of new buildings or the dilapidation of old ones; and a few errors in the accounts given of existing objects have been discovered, which it is trusted will be excused by the reader who reflects on the difficulties which must be encountered in the production of such a work as the present.
At p. 83 it should have been mentioned that the Hall of Greenwich Hospital is very appropriately adorned by a statue of Dibdin, the British Tyrtæus, whose naval lyrics animated our sailors in the day of battle, and delighted them in the moment of enjoyment.
At p. 89, for “ a sister of his present Majesty," read “ sister of the Duke of Gloucester, and first cousin to his present Majesty."
The Church of Lewisham, mentioned at p. 93, was burnt in Dec. 1830, and there is reason to fear that its destruction is to be attributed to those incendiaries, whose ravages have been so alarmingly prevalent in this and other counties.
It should have been stated at p. 95 that Maidstone is 34 miles from London; and at p. 97, that a new Church has recently been erected there, of Gothic architecture, with a square tower, surmounted by pinnacles, at the west end.
The Horizontal Mill at Battersea, mentioned p. 141, has been pulled down.
R. Clark, Esq. Chamberlain of London, spoken of in p. 147, died in January, 1831.
The eastern end of the Great Hall of Croydon Palace, spoken of at p. 150, fell down on the 8th June, 1830, soon after the account of it was printed.
A new Grand Stand was erected on Epsom Downs, (p. 155,) in 1830, at an expense of £20,000.
The mention made, in p. 509, of the Athenæum, as a Literary Institution at Exeter, is incorrect; there is no building so called in that city.
END OF VOLUME I.
PRINTED BY J. READ, ST. MARY AXE, LONDOX.