« НазадПродовжити »
whole coast of Sussex, the Isle of Wight, and the intermediate ocean, sprinkled with innumerable vessels.
Until very lately Brighton possessed but one Church, which is dedicated to St. Nicholas, and stands at a small distance to the north-west of the town, on a rising ground. It is a plain old building, with a low square tower, and small spire. The interior is neat, but contains nothing worthy of notice, excepting the baptismal font, which is circular, and ornamented with various sculptures, one of which represents the Last Supper. Some antiquarians have ascribed this performance to a Saxon artist; others assert that it was brought from Normandy in the time of the Conqueror; and a writer in the Gentleman's Magazine for 1807, declares his belief that it is a modern work, probably imitated during the last century, from an ancient piece of sculpture now destroyed. In the Churchyard are several monuments, one of the most remarkable of which bears the following inscription:
6 P. M. S.
and loyalty, Charles the Second, King of England, after he
life the 26th day of July, 1674." A long epitaph in verse follows, but is now nearly defaced. Here is also a handsome monument in memory of Mrs. Crouch, the celebrated singer, of Drury Lane Theatre, who died in 1805; and another, erected at the expense of the late King, in honour of Phæbe Hassell, who served in disguise as a soldier in the English army during many years, and was wounded at the battle of Fontenoy, in 1745. She died in 1821, aged 108 years, and during the latter period of her life owed her maintenance to his Majesty's bounty.
* After the battle of Worcester Charles wandered about the country in great danger during six weeks; at the end of that time, being concealed in the house of a Mr. Maurrel, at Ovingdean, Tettersell, who was the master of a coal-brig, was engaged to convey him across the Channel. The King repaired to Brighton on the evening of the 14th of October, and passed the night at the George Inn (now the King's Head), in West Street. On the following morning he embarked, and was safely landed at Fescamp in Normandy. After the Restoration Captain Tettersell's “ valour and loyalty” were rewarded with an annuity of £100 “ to him and his heirs
But this pension was not granted until he had awakened the slumbering gratitude of Charles, by mooring the vessel in which his escape had been made, opposite to the Palace of Whitehall; nor has it been continued for a long series of years, although it is said that the Tettersell family is not extinct. Perhaps his Majesty's preservation was thought to be sufficiently paid for.
A second Church, of beautiful Gothic architecture, and dedicated to St. Peter, has been recently completed and opened, affording accommodation to many of the inhabitants, whom the small size of the church of St. Nicholas, and of the several chapels, deprived of the means of attending divine worship according to the rites of the Church of England. This building is of Purbeck stone, richly ornamented, with a beautiful tower and spire, and forms a very fine object from the London road, being situated near the entrance of the town from the metropolis. St. Margaret's Chapel, near Regency Square, has a handsome portico, and an excellent organ; St. George's is near Kemp Town, and was built by the spirited individual to whom Brighton owes that splendid addition to her buildings; the Chapel Royal, in Prince's Place, was erected in 1793, and is a well-built edifice, which derives its name from having been attended by his late Majesty before the completion of a Chapel at the Pavilion; St. James's Chapel was opened in 1810. Beside these, the Roman Catholics, Unitarians, Independents, Baptists, Quakers, Methodists, and Jews, have each their respective places of worship; that of the Unitarians is a very fine building, of. Grecian architecture, on the plan of the Temple of Theseus, at Athens.
Brighton is well provided with places of amusement: the Theatre, situated between North and Church Streets, was built in 1807, a former one, in Duke Street, opened in 1789, being found too small for the accommodation of the visitants. The present edifice is very elegantly fitted up, particularly the King's box, and the performances are generally of a superior order, as some of the most celebrated London performers are frequently engaged during a part of the summer season. The Assembly and Ball Rooms are decorated with great taste, and well attended. Splendid public Gardens were opened by a Mr. Ireland, in 1824, and contain a bowling-green, cricketground, racket-court, a maze, &c. beside billiard and ball rooms. Another place of amusement, called Vauxhall Gardens, is of still more recent establishment, and is very attractive. The Libraries and Reading Rooms are numerous, and well supplied with the fashionable literature and periodical publications of the day, as well as with the more solid productions of former times; and the Hotels and Lodginghouses are suited to every grade of expense, from twenty to two guineas a week.
On the beach are many Machines for sea-bathing; and those who prefer private baths may be readily accommodated, as there are several establishments for that purpose. The most remarkable are the Indian medicated vapour baths, established here, in 1813, by Sake Deen Mahomed, and the Turkish vapour and shampooing baths, the use of which has been found beneficial in many maladies. About half a mile westward of the old Church a Chalybeate Spring has been discovered, whose waters are said to be strongly impregnated with iron, and consequently highly useful in cases of debility, indigestion, and other ailments requiring tonic remedies. It is enclosed in a neat building, and is much frequented.
The charitable institutions of Brighton are very numerous, and comprise a well-regulated Dispensary; a Maternal Society, for relieving poor married women at the period of their confinement; a Benevolent Society for the relief of the sick poor; branches of the Bible Society, and that for the Promotion of Christian Knowledge; and several others. National Schools, Sunday Schools, and a School of Industry, are also established here; and a Mechanics’ Institution is well supported, and promises to be useful. Here is a Workhouse, erected in 1733 on the site of an ancient chapel dedicated to St. Bartholomew; and a neat and convenient Market-House, built in 1734, which is open every day, except Sunday, although the principal market-days are Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. Extensive Barracks, for horse, foot, and artillery, were erected in Brighton and the neighbourhood during the war, and are considered, in external appearance and interior arrangement, to be not inferior to any in the kingdom.
Brighton is not adapted for a sea-port, the harbour being too shallow to admit vessels of any considerable burden; it is principally frequented by packets,
and by fishing boats, the trade carried on by which is very great: the number of these attached to the town is about 100, each employing, on an average, three persons. The fish caught are of various kinds, and the supply is frequently very plentiful; notwithstanding which it is often difficult to procure any in the town, as the greater part is bought up by the London dealers, this being the nearest sea port to the metropolis. Immense oyster-beds have been ascertained to lie off this town, and to extend as far as Shoreham Harbour; and their dimensions have been asserted by some persons to be of the almost incredible length of 70 miles, and seven miles in breadth. A communication with the French coast is regularly kept up, by means of
steam packets, which ply between this place and Dieppe, about 90 miles distant; whilst coaches, celebrated for the rapidity of their movements, convey visitors from or to London with almost unequalled speed and regularity, starting from each place, during the summer, nearly every hour in the day.
On the Downs, about a mile from the town, is the Race Course, which is well attended in July or August, when the races take place. The ground is near 400 feet above the level of the sea, and commands an extensive and diversified prospect in every direction. Not far from hence is White-hawk Hill, which is supposed to have been occupied as a station by the Romans, and has on its summit a Signal House, forming part of the chain which runs along the coast from Portsmouth to Dover, Hollingbury Castle Hill, two miles north of Brighton, has evident traces of an encampment, of a circular form, with several tumuli, in which bones, Roman coins, &c. have been found at various periods.
Among the numerous interesting walks and rides with which the vicinity of Brighton abounds, there is none more deserving of notice than that to the Devil's Dyke, which is by a gradual ascent of about five miles to the north-west. From the summit of Dyke Hill, Nature, in her noblest form, is displayed; from hence the eye glances over great part of Sussex, with portions of Surrey, Hampshire, and Kent; the whole interspersed with woods and villages, highlycultivated fields, and distant hills. The
cleft which divides this hill from the South Downs is very precipitous.
BROADWATER, a small village, of whose parish the flourishing town of Worthing is a member, is one mile and a quarter from that place, and has a large and very ancient Church, exhibiting a mixture of the Saxon and early pointed style, and containing some handsome monuments. This place had formerly a Market, which has long been disused.
BUXTED, a village with 1509 inhabitants, is near Uckfield, and has a neat Church, dedicated to St. Margaret, with a handsome spire. A Fair is held here annually on July 31.
CHAILEY, pleasantly situated about five miles from Lewes, has an ancient but small Church, a National Schorl, and a Dissenting Chapel. Its population is about 900. In the vicinity are several handsome residences.
CRAWLEY, a small but respectable town, with 340 inhabitants, is situated on the road from London to Brighton, and is 29 miles from the former and 22 from the latter place. It does not possess anything very interesting in itself, but in the neighbourhood are several elegant residences of the nobility and gentry. Two annual Fairs are held here, May 8th, and September 9th, and the latter is considered one of the largest cattle fairs in this county.
CROWBOROUGH BEACON, about six miles from Uckfield, on the road to Tunbridge Wells, is an eminence rising 801 feet above the level of the sea, and commanding a most extensive and varied prospect, extending to the north-west over the whole of Ashdown Forest, and thence stretching as far as Leith Hill Tower, 25 miles distant; to the north the view is bounded by Botley Hill, in Surrey, and the range of hills extending from Limpsfield to Sevenoaks; to the south-west Ditchling Beacon, near Lewes, and the Sussex Downs are seen; while to the south-east the extensive plain lying between this place and Pevensey, and the range of hills which extends to