« НазадПродовжити »
dean, precéntor, chancellor, treasurer, two archdeacons, twenty-six prebendaries, four canons residentiary, four vicars, choristers, vergers, &c. It was not altered at the time of the Reformation, having been originally founded for secular canons.
The Bishop's Palace is an extensive and venerable structure, although with many modern additions and alterations. It was much dilapidated during the Civil War, and was thoroughly repaired, and considerably enlarged, in 1725; but several of the apartments still exhibit relics of its ancient magnificence, and the Chapel affords a fine specimen of the architecture of the thirteenth century. The gardens are extensive, and have a terrace walk on a part of the city walls.
The Deanery is a convenient residence, built by the celebrated Sherlock; this, as well as the houses of the canons, has a good garden, and terrace walk; and several remains of the ancient monastic buildings are observable in the vicinity.
Within the walls of this City are six parish churches; St. Peter the Great, which forms the north transept of the Cathedral; All Saints, not far from South Street; St. Martin's, which was nearly rebuilt in 1803, in a neat Gothic style, by the munificence of a Mrs. Dean, and stands in the lane of the same name; St. Andrew's, near East Street, which contains the remains of William Collins; St. Olave's, and St. Peter the Less, both in North Street. All these are ancient edifices, but possess no other claim to particular notice. A Chapel of Ease, dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, has recently been erected by voluntary contributions, near the eastern side of the wall; it is a handsome building of brick, with an elegant turret of Portland stone, on the model of the Lantern of Demosthenes at Athens; the interior is very handsomely fitted up, the pews, pulpit, organ, &c. being varnished in imitation of mahogany. Without the walls are the two parishes of $t. Pancras and St. Bartholomew, both of whose churches were demolished by the royalists, to supply materials for the additional fortifications which they erected in 1613; the former church only has been rebuilt. Here are also Chapels and Meeting-houses for Quakers, Unitarians, Methodists, and other Dissenters.
Near the centre of the city, at the intersection of the four principal streets, stands
one of the most elegant buildings of this kind existing in England. It was erected about 1480, at the expence of Bishop Story, who is said to have left an estate to the Corporation for the purpose of keeping it in repair; it does not appear, however, that any fund is now appropriated to that use. Its shape is octangular, with an abutment at each angle, sur. mounted by a pinnacle and vane. On each of its eight sides is an entrance through a finely ornamented arch, and above four of these entrances are tablets commemorative of its erection, reparations, &c. placed over three of these tablets, which face the principal streets; the fourth side, owing to its situation at an angle, is not furnished with one. In the centre of the building is a large circular column,
A dial is
surrounded by a seat, and from this column spring a number of groinings, which form, a beautifully arched roof, while the column itself is continued above the exterior, and is supported by eight flying buttresses, and crowned with a vane.
Its appearance is altogether unique and elegant. It was formerly used as a market-house, but when it was found necessary to erect a larger building for that purpose, some of the city Vandals proposed to pull down this Cross as a nuisance! Fortunately, however, a subscription was entered into by some persons of better taste, for the purpose of purchasing several old houses on the north side, which were removed, and the improvement was thus effected without the commission of what every admirer of the few relics of this sort left by time and fanaticism, must have looked on as sacrilege. From this Cross the four leading streets branch off, and are named, from their direction, East, West, North, and South; each of them was formerly terminated by a Gate, and the whole is still enclosed by Walls, supposed to have been erected by the Romans, about a mile and a quarter in circumference, which in several parts are lined by ranges of lofty elm trees, and have a singular and picturesque appearance.
At the back of North Street, and extending to the city wall, is a district called the Friary, in which are the remains of an ancient structure, generally supposed to have been a castle originally built by Roger Montgomery, Earl of Chichester, in the eleventh century, but by some writers considered to have claims to much higher antiquity, and to be of the same age as the city walls, which were erected by the Romans. However this be, Earl Roger and his successors undoubtedly had a residence here until the year 1223, when one of them bestowed it on the Grey Friars, by whom it was occupied until the Dissolution, when it was granted by Henry VIII to the Mayor and Corporation, who converted the chapel into a Guildhall, for which purpose it has been ever since used, and is spacious and commodious, although not a very elegant structure. Several new streets have recently been erected in this part of the city, and evince an increase in its population, which, in 1821, was 7362 persons.
The Council House is in North Street, and is a neat and convenient structure, erected in 1733 by subscription. Adjoining to this building is the Assembly Room, also raised by subscription, in 1781. This is an elegant and well-proportioned apartment, 59 feet in length, 32 wide, and 28 high. It contains an excellent organ, and assemblies are held here every second week during the winter, and also occasional concerts.
Near the bottom of South Street is the Theatre, built in 1791; the exterior is handsome, aud the interior well arranged. The performances are generally continued through the greater part of the summer. In West Street is the Custom House, whose business is not very extensive; and in the same street is the Grammar School, founded in 1497 by Bishop Story for the benefit of poor freemen's sons, and the Free School, established by Mr. Oliver Whitly in 1702 for the education of twelve boys, who among other things are to be taught navigation. Beside these, Chichester has a Lancasterian School, and several Charity Schools for children of both sexes.
A Mechanics Institution has been established here, and has a very respectable collection of books, maps, &c.; and a spirit of improvement is decidedly manifested in the appearance of the city (which is now well paved and lighted with gas), and the manners and pursuits of its inhabitants.
Among the charitable institutions of Chichester, St. Mary's Hospital, for six women and two men, is the most ancient, having been originally founded in 1174, but it is believed to have been at that time a nunnery, and its conversion to its present purpose to have taken place at some subsequent period, not ascertained. The buildings are venerable and spacious, and it has a noble Chapel, erected in the beginning of the fifteenth century; the Dean of Chichester for the time being is the Warden. Here is also a Dispensary, established in 1784, and supported by voluntary subscriptionis; an Infirmary, a handsome building, lately erected, in a pleasant, healthy situation, and several other charities of a minor des scription.
The Workhouse for the whole city stands just out. side the North Gate; and the Ĝaoi, which formerly accupied the East Gate, was 'erected near that spot on the gate being pulled down in 1783. Extensive Barracks, principally built of wood, are situated at the northern extremity of the city,
Several religious and charitable foundations formerly existed in Chichester, among which are edumerated a Monastery dedicated to St. Peter, op the site of the Cathedral; a Nunnery in the neighbourhood ;. a Convent for Black Friars; and an Hospital for Lepers. No traces of these buildings now. exist; but several remains of still more remote antiquity have been discovered here, among the most remarkable of which are two slabs of Sussex marble, with inscriptions in Roman characters, which were found near to each other in digging the foundations of a house in East Street, and are supposed to have been votive tablets, placed in a temple dedicated to Neptune and Minerva. Some of the buildings near the Cathedral Close are also considered by Mr. Hay, the historian of Chichester, to exhibit evident marks of Roman workmanship.
The government of this city is vested, by a Charter of James II, in a Mayor, who is chosen annually, a Recorder, several Aldermen, and Common-councilmen; and the right of electing parliamentary representatives is vested in the inhabitants paying scot and lot, and in some honorary freemen, who are not resident,
A neat and convenient Market-house was erested in North Street about 1807, but on the beast-parket days, the pens and cattle extend beyond its limits, and occupy a great part of the adjacent streets,
Chichester has very little trade; but its pleasant situation, its vicinity to the sea, its cleanliness, and the residence of the clergy connected with the Cathedral, contribute to make it a favourite dwellingplace for respectable families, of moderate incomes, and unconnected with business; and the society is consequently of a superior order.
This city has given birth to some eminent persons; the earliest of whom we find any mention is Thomas Bradwardin, who was born here in the thirteenth century, educated at Merton College, Oxfond, and after attending Edward III as his confessor during the wars in France, was made Archbishop of Cap