« НазадПродовжити »
borne, with several priests, waiting on Henry VII, who stands before his palace, attended by his courtiers (and, by a singular anachronism, his father, Henry VII, is placed at his right hand), with a request, written on a scroll, that he might be permitted to adorn bis Cathedral, to which the king consents by an answer inscribed on a book. These paintings are very valuable as authentic representations of the costume of the age in which they were executed, as well as on account of their intrinsic merit; how they escaped destruction from the Parliamentarians does not appear. The other walls of the transepts are decorated with portraits of all the English monarchs from William I to George I, and of every Bishop of Selsea or Chichester, from the foundation of the see to the Reformation. The greater part of these portraits were executed at the cost of the same munificent prelate, who placed a short account of each Bishop below his figure, brought down to his own time. The vaulting of the Church has also been richly painted with flowers, coats of arms, &c. probably by the same artist; among others the arms of William of Wykeham, with his
motto “: Manners makyth Man,” is often repeated; from which it may be concluded that he was a contributor
to the rebuilding or decoration of this Cathedral. The north transept is used as a parish church, and is dedicated to St. Peter, who was the patron of a sacred edifice which formerly occupied the site of the present Cathedral.
The Lady Chapel is elegantly decorated, but loses much of its lightness and beauty by the closing of the eastern window; it is now used as a library, and contains a good collection of books. A vault belonging to the family of the Duke of Richmond extends below this Chapel, and the entrance is distin. guished by banners with their armorial bearings, and an inscription, which has occasioned some censure*.
* The words of this inscription are « Domus ULTIMA;" a sentiment certainly inappropriate and unbecoming in a Christian church; the follow ing lines, by the Rev. Mr. Clarke, a Canon of the Cathedral, convey a just reproof of the impiety or folly which dictated the inseription: ei o tuto Did he who thus inscribed this wallipote
19V 911 10 w Another house, not made with hands? Who says there is—where'er it stands,
In this Cathedral are many Monuments, several of which have been splendidly decorated, but their present state affords a melancholy proof of the barbarous fanaticism which we have had such frequent occasion to lament. One of the most elegant tombs in the building is that of St. Richard, who was Bishop of this see from 1245 to 1253, and was canonized for his numerous miracles, the most beneficial of which was the feeding of 3000 poor people in a season of famine. The tomb, on which lies the figure of the saint, stands in a beautiful shrine, or chantry, originally ornamented with great richness, but now much mutilated and defaced; it is in the south transept, and was visited by the Catholics long after the Reformation. The tomb of Bishop Shurborne, who so liberally adorned his Cathedral, is in the north aisle of the choir, and has his effigy, in his episcopal robes, much injured; he died in 1536. Langton, who was Bishop of this see during 33 years, and died in 1337, after having filled the offices of Lord Chancellor and others, with great credit, is interred under the noble window which he built in the south transept; a more proper situation could not have been fixed on, and we have again to lament that his tomb, once richly ornamented, has been much defaced, and retains but few traces of its original beauty.
In the Lady Chapel is the elegant modern monument of Bishop Waddington, who died in 1731; and the plain black marble tombs of three of the ancient prelates of this see, Radulph, or Ralph, the original founder of the present edifice; Seffrid, who rebuilt it after the fire in 1187; and Hilary, his predecessor and patron.
Behind the altar are two unadorned tombs, and the inscriptions being defaced it is uncertain to whom they belong, which is also the case with one in the north aisle of the choir; the former are supposed to cover the remains of Bishops Story and Day, who both died in the sixteenth century, and the latter is believed to be that of Adam Molins, murdered at Portsmouth in 1449. Many sepulchral slabs, of large size, are to be seen in various parts of the Cathedral, on which may be easily distinguished the shape of the brass figures and canopies with which they were formerly inlaid, and which were torn off and carried away by the republican soldiers. There are other monuments, which do not require particular notice; but one, which must be looked on with pity and reverence, is the
which was erected by subscription in honour of that unfortunate bard, who was born and died in this city. The monument is placed in the Nave, and consists of a marble tablet, with a beautiful sculpture, executed by Flaxman, representing Collins, as if recovering from a fit of frenzy, and in an inclining posture, seeking in the New Testament, which lies open before him, that consolation which its sacred pages can alone afford. His lyre, and a scroll, containing his celebrated Ode on the Passions, lie neglected at his feet. The figures of Love and Pity, embracing each other, adorn the upper part of the monument; and below are the following lines, written by Mr. Hayley and Mr. Sargent:
“ Ye who the merits of the dead revere,
Severely doom'd to penury's
In the Cloisters is a monument, with a Latin inscription, in memory of William Chillingworth, the eminent controversial writer, who died in January, 1644, in the episcopal palace of this city, to which he had been removed from Arundel Castle, on its being taken by the Parliamentary forces. He was born at Oxford in 1602, and educated in the University. He was eminently learned; but metaphysical and religious casuistry were his favourite studies; and he devoted his powers so exclusively to disputation, that, according to Lord Clarendon," he contracted such an irresolution and habit of doubting, that by degrees he grew confident of nothing." In this unsettled state he was persuaded by a Jesuit, that the Church of Rome, being governed by an infallible head, afforded the only means of ascertaining the true religion. He went to Douay, intending to write a vindication of his conversion; but a letter from his friend, Bishop Laud, shook his new faith, and induced him to return to Oxford, where he resumed his studies, investigated more closely the differences between the churches of England and Rome, and sealed his re-conversion by writing his celebrated work, entitled " The Religion of Protestants a safe Way to Salvation." He might now have obtained preferment in the church; but, for ever tossed on the ocean of
doubt, he had scruples relative to signing the Thirty-nine Articles. These scruples were, however, at length overcome, by the usual process of reasoning, and disputation, and he received a prebend in the diocese of Salisbury, with the chancellorship of the Cathedral. He subséquently obtained some other preferments; and on the commencement of the Civil War aided the royal
cause with sword and pen, inditing ultra-loyal pamphlets, (one of which was entitled, “ The Unlawfulness of resisting the lawful Prince, although most Impious, Tyrannical, and Idolatrous”!), and acting as engineer at the siege of Gloucester. His ill health compelled him to retire to Arundel Castle, in which he was taken by Sir William Waller, and died in the forty-second year of his age. Beside those mentioned above, he published several other works on theological subjects.
The removal of the episcopal seat from Selsea to this city has been already mentioned: it was established in the former place, about the middle of the seventh century, by Wilfrid, Archbishop of York, whose turbulent ambition had occasioned his expulsion from the dominions of Egfrid, King of Northumberland, and who found protection from Adelwaleh, King of Sussex, on the express copdition that he should use his utmost exertions to convert the still pagan South Saxons to the newly adopted faith of their monarch, who bestowed the island or peninsula of Selsea on the Apostle and his companions; a gift which was confirmed by Ceadwalla. Here Wilfrid founded a monastery and a church, and by a judicious and beneficent attention to the temporal wants of the poor people, induced them the more readily to receive the sacred truths which it was his great object to impart. On the death of Egfrid, he returned to York; and, during a period of nearly thirty years, this see appears to have been united to that of Winchester; but in 711, Eadbert was appointed Bishop of the South Saxons, and a regular succession of prelates is thence enumerated, at Selsea until about 1092, and at Chichester from that period to the present. Since the removal of the see, nearly seventy persons have occupied the episcopal throne; Ralph, Seffrid, Langton, and Shurborne, have been already mentioned as benefactors to the church, and, did space permit, many more might be enumerated, both in ancient and modern days, whose talents and virtues have added dignity to their exalted station. The present Bishop is Dr. R. J. Carr, who was appointed in 1824, and was the constant attendant of his late Majesty, George IV, during his last illness. The Cathedral establishment consists of a