« НазадПродовжити »
The other lady was Elizabeth, wife of Major General Hamilton, who, during an union of 47 years, did one thing to disoblige her husband!” 'She died in 1746. Two Charity Schools, for girls, are established here; the population in 1821, including Upper Tooting, was 3750.
Between this village and Tooting is Streatham Park, formerly the residence of Henry Thrale, Esq. under whose hospitable roof Dr. Johnson passed much of his time during many years, and experienced that tenderness and respect which his talents deserved, and his ill health and constitutional melancholy required. The Library contains portraits of the Doctor and his literary contemporaries, painted by Sir Joshua Reynolds.
SUTTON is a small but pleasant and genteel village, one mile from Carshalton, with a Church containing several monuments. The Downs in this parish are very extensive, and the sheep fed on them are much esteemed. The inhabitants are about 900.
TANDRIDGE, three miles from Godstone, although now a very small place (the whole parish, which is 12 miles long, having but 450 inhabitants), was formerly of sufficient consequence to give its name to the Hundred in which it lies. It had a Priory, founded in the reign of Richard I, for Augustine Friars, but not a vestige of the building now remains. Near the village is a National School.
Tooting, a village about six miles from London, on the road to Epsom, is divided into two hamlets, called Upper and Lower, of which the former is a portion of the parish of Streatham, and the latter had, in 1821, 1963 inhabitants. Here is a neat Church, with a low circular tower and spire; and also two Chapels for Dissenters. The neighbourhood is pleasant, and contains many gentlemen's seats; and the constant succession of vehicles and passengers on this well-frequented road gives the village a lively appearance.
VAUXHALL, one of the precincts of the parish of Lambeth, derives its name from Vaux or Fawkes
Hall, by which title the manor house was known.' The tradition that this was the property of the notorious Guy Fawkes, is considered by Mr. Lysons as void of foundation. Vauxhall bas partaken largely of the building mania which within the last few years has united all the adjacent villages to the huge metropolis; in every direction new houses are seen, and its beautiful Gardens, before they passed into the possession of the present proprietors, were threatened with an invasion by the potentates of brick and mortar; fortunately, however, they have been respited; and while they are conducted with so much spirit as now, we may hope that the public patronage will render them more profitable than if their site were converted into Rows, Streets, and Terraces. The period at which these Gardens first became a place of public amusement cannot be ascertained; they are, however, mentioned as such in the Spectator, for May 20, 1712, where Addison introduces Sir Roger de Coverley as accompanying him on a voyage from Temple Stairs to Spring Gardens, as they were then called. In 1750, Mr. Tyars, having purchased them, decorated them at great expense with paintings, erected an orchestra, engaged musicians, and placed a fine statue of Handel in a conspicuous situation. They proved highly attractive, and were visited during the season, which extended through June, July, and August, by persons of the highest rank, as well as by others. It is impossible to enter into a description of their various beauties here; suffice it to say that, under the present management, very considerable additions and alterations have been made, and that the whole presents a scene of unrivalled beauty, which must be seen to be appreciated. The entertainments consist of vocal and instrumental music, dancing, petite pieces resembling the French vaudevilles, fire-works, &c. and the Gardens are splendidly illuminated. They are open three times a week during the period mentioned above, and in favourable weather the number of visitors is immense.
Vauxhall is the seat of several extensive potteries, stone wharfs, distilleries, &c.; and the Bridge (which will be described under LONDON,) and Roads connected with it are the scenes of considerable traffic. On the road to Wandsworth is a fine spring, called
the Spring Well, which, it is said, is never frozen, even in the severest winter. Near Kennington Cross, on the Vauxhall Road, is the Licensed Victuallers' School, an excellent institution, in which the children of deceased or decayed members of that numerous body are maintained, clothed, and educated. Many Chapels for Dissenters are established in Vauxhall and its neighbourhood.
WALTON-ON-THÀmes is a pleasant village, about six miles from Kingston, situated, as its name implies, on the Thames, over which it has a Bridge of brick, erected in 1797. The Church, an ancient structure, contains a fine monument by Roubiliac in memory of Lord Shannon, who died in 1740; and a slab, with a Latin inscription, to William Lilly, the Astrolo. ger, who died in 1681. In this parish, on St. George's Hill, are the remains of a Roman camp, comprising an area of 13 acres; and near this, at Coway Stakes, Julius Cæsar is supposed to have crossed the Thames in pursuit of Cassibelaunus, the British king. This place derives its name from the sharp Stakes, shod with iron, which the Britons are said to have driven into the bed of the river in order to prevent the passage of the Romans; some of these stakes remained within memory; and the subject has excited considerable discussion among antiquarians, as Cæsar himself merely relates his fording the river, but does not mention the obstruction which must have been created by this mode of defence; it is therefore coneluded that he must have discovered, and avoided it, by going further up. In this neighbourhood are many beautiful mansions, the most celebrated of which
Paine's Hill, the grounds of which were laid out in the most beautiful and romantic manner by the Hon. Charles Hamilton, and drew from Horace Walpole the following eulogium: “ At Paine's Hill all is great, and foreign, and rude; the walks seem not designed, but cut through the wood of pines; and the style of the whole is so grand, and conducted with so serious an air of wild and uncultivated extent, that when you look down on this seeming forest, you are amazed to find it contain only a few acres.". The house is a handsome building, and is the residence of Lady Carhampton.
WANDSWORTH, a large and increasing village, with a population of more than 7000 persons, derives its name from its situation on the Wandle, which here falls into the Thames; it is six miles from Lon-, don. It has a Bridge over the former stream, rebuilt in 1757, and on its banks are numerous dye-works, flour, corn, and other mills, which give employment to the inhabitants; there is also a manufacture of hats, introduced by the French refugees at the close of the seventeenth century. The Church, a plain edifice, with a 'square tower which belonged to a former structure, was rebuilt in 1780, and contains several monuments, the only remarkable one is that of. Henry Smith*, Alderman of London, who died in 1627, aged 79 years. A Chapel of Ease was erected here a few years ago, and is a handsome building of brick, with a fine Ionic portico of four stone pillars. Here are also several places of worship for Dissenters, various Schools, a Workhouse, &c. The Surrey rail-road, communicating with Croydon, commences at Wandsworth, and is very useful in forwarding coals, &c. to the former town, Mitcham, and the in. termediate places.
WEYBRIDGE, a village on the Wey, about three miles from Chertsey, with a small Church, dedicated to St. James, possesses nothing remarkable; its principal distinction arises from the fine seats in its neighbourhood, the principal of which is Oatlands, a handsome mansion, during many years the residence of the late Duchess of York, who expired here in August 1820, deeply regretted by the poor of the adjacent villages, to whom her charity and kindness had endeared her. The grounds are very extensive, and laid out with great taste. · Ham Haw Park, near the Thames, was formerly the residence of the Countess of Dorchester*, so created by James II, whose mistress she was. She married the Earl of Portmore, and this estate is still the property of her descendants.
* Mr. Smith was born in this town, of humble parentage, but having acquired wealth, and being a widower without children, in 1620 he conveyed all his estates to trustees for charitable purposes, 'reserving £500 per annum for his own maintenance. Hegave £ 1000 to each of the towns of Croydon, Kingston, Guildford, Dorking, Reigate, and Richmond, and £500 to Wandsworth, to buy lands for ever, for the reliefe and setting poor people on worke;" £ 1000 to redeem captives in Morocco; £10,000 to buy impropriations for “ godly preachers;” £2000 to his nepbew and poor relations, beside many other sums for charitable purposes, to be distributed by his executors to various parishes in the county, according to their discretion, in relieving the impotent with food and clothing, educating poor children, and binding them apprentices; founding a fellowship at Cambridge, &c. It has been reported that he was once a beggar, and that having been whipped out of Mitcham, he excluded that parish from his bounty; but there does not appear to be any foundation for this assertion, and Mitcham actually receives a share of his donations.
WIMBLEDON, a respectable village, on the Common of the same name, is seven miles from London, and has a Church, partly ancient, and partly rebuilt in 1788 in the modern style. It contains several monuments, but not any deserving of particular notice. In the Churchyard is interred John Hopkins, Esq. a celebrated miser, satirized by Pope under the name of Vulture Hopkins. He died in 1732, and by his will directed that his immense fortune should accumulate until the second generation after his death; the Court of Chancery, however, reversed this disposition, and gave it to his immediate heir. The population of the
parish is about 2200. Wimbledon House, the residence of Earl Spencer, is a handsome mansion, with a fine park, commanding extensive and beautiful views, and standing on the site of a magnificent building, erected by Sir Thomas Cecil, in 1588, which was afterwards occupied by Queen Henrietta Maria, and during the Interregnum by Lambert, the parliamentary general, who here amused himself (as he afterwards did in his long banishment to Guernsey) in cultivatiug and painting flowers. On the Restoration the Queen Dowager again obtained possession of this house, but shortly afterwards disposed of it; and after passing through various hands, Sarah Duchess of Marlborough purchased the estate, rebuilt the house, and gave it to her grandson, the ancestor of the present proprietor.
On the Common are several other mansions, one of which was occupied by M. De Calonne, the French financier, and afterwards by the Prince of
* This lady was the daughter of Sir Charles Sedley, who, though a man of very loose morals, was exceedingly indignant at what he considered a splendid insult. He became very active in favour of the Prince of Orange, observing that as the King had made his daughter a Countess, be would do all in his power to make his Majesty's daughter a Queen.